British Weather British Easter Weekend.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex » Southend-on-Sea
April 5th 2010
Published: April 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I’ve now packed up work and I was in full preparation for a boot sale filled weekend. For those in the USA boot sales are a little like yard sales, we drive our cars in convoy at 5:30am to a large field unpack our boots and sell out wares from any old table or rail we can lay our hands on. It’s usually freezing cold too so we hop from one foot to another whilst attempting to smile and negotiate a decent price for a CD we’ve already attempted to sell on Ebay twice.

As it happens a few drinks in the pub on Thursday afternoon to bid farewell to my cracking colleagues actually ended up with me drinking far too much wine, falling through the door totally drunk to the point where my husband put me in my pyjamas and tucked me up for a cosy night on the sofa rather than attempting to get me up the stairs and into bed. I woke up with a pounding head at about 6:00am with a bottle of water just that little bit too far out of reach. I managed to get to it without my head combusting, I knocked back all 500ml in one go before stumbling to the kitchen for another bottle this time half orange juice and half water. Down in one again, refilled the bottle before crawling up the stairs and crashing into bed next to my husband who was sleeping as soundly as a bear in hibernation.

Thankfully by the time I woke up although I was still a little jaded I was functioning, only just. Between Paracetamol and water Mark confirmed that the boot sale planned for Saturday had been cancelled mainly due to the torrential rain we had had on Thursday and Friday. The most annoying part of this is that we had not made arrangements with friends over Easter weekend as we knew we would need to be early to bed because of the boot sales so there was nothing more for us to do but to watch movies and keep out of the rain. Maybe the weather would turn around and we would be able to sell our mountains of belongings on Easter Sunday and Bank Holiday Monday????? Nope. All cancelled because of the great British weather. So now I am grumpy that I am still surrounded by all this stuff and my productive weekend has been ruined, my husband still continues to tell me not to worry. Sigh, he’ll never get it.


So now its Easter Sunday and we’ve spent time with Marks family, eaten chocolate and played on the Wii for 4 hours, the only saving grace is that I won several times playing Monopoly on the Wii. I love a victory. No boot sales tomorrow so another day of torture being surrounded by stuff. In one week I will be making my way to Florida for a full 9 days. I really can’t wait to be at my Mum and Dads, I have to admit that when my Dad said he wasn’t coming over before we left for Australia to say goodbye it broke my heart. So I plan to spend as much time as I can relaxing with them both, so Dad take note and step away from the office. Mum, take note and avoid 10 hour shopping marathons 


Advertisement



6th April 2010

You need the garage sale mafia!!
All that STUFF would be gone if we were there. Our Easter was recovering from Monique and Billy's wedding. We had hamburgers and french fries, no chocolate!! Can't wait to see you both, we can celebrate my Birthday if you have time. The Family is trying out for FAMILY FEUD at 5:00 p.m. on Saturday the 10th, my official birthday, but you know I celebrate the whole month so not to worry!! Being unemployed I have to come up with creative ways to make money. Even though I was the wedding planner the pay sucked!! BUT it was fun and Monique was happy as a clam. They are now in Costa Rica on their honeymoon. See you soon. Love the Princess (retired wedding planner) and Bob

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb