London: Part 2!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex » Colchester
September 5th 2007
Published: September 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,
Sorry I know its been a while but its been pretty non-stop for the last few weeks, but I'm having a slow day today so I thought that I'd try to catch up a bit.
The last time I wrote I had met up with Mum and Barbara for a day in London and then headed back to my place before leaving to finally go and see the Simpsons movie. I felt like because I had been so very obsessed with the Simpsons for so long I really had to go and see the movie, even though I knew it wouldn't be as good as it would've been if it had been made several years ago. It was better than the new episodes but still not a really great film.
That week at work was less full-on. Monday we headed to Fulham Palace which is a pretty nice playground - and overall it was a really relaxed day. Then on Tuesday we went to the aquarium although I didn't actually spend that much time looking at the fish as we didn't tend to stop for more than a couple of seconds at each tank and visited every single toilet in the place. Wednesday and Friday were spent with the Youth group at the Stowe, which is the place we go to really often and which always gets really boring (and I always end up killing time on facebook). Thursday was my day off. That Friday we all headed to the pub for Friday night drinks as usual but this time I brought my camera which was great because Karian got a bit drunk and kept posing for terrible photos! It was a really good night but I got a call from Karian just as I was about to get on the tube saying that she was on the bus but had left her purse behind at the pub. So I headed back and asked everyone around the pub and in the beer garden if they'd seen it (I was even really annoying and got them to search the female toilets for me) but it was nowhere to be found. But luckily just as I gave up the bar woman came running out and the purse had just been handed in. So that was a lucky escape! The rest of the weekend was fairly uneventful.
I was a bit annoyed though that i had been changed to the Youth group on Wednesday and Friday on the previous week cause it meant that I had no more shifts on the play scheme and as I wasn't warned I didn't get a chance for closure (how obsessive does that sound!). So when Rina asked if I could cover her shift on Monday I made sure that I could. That day was spend entirely at the Rainbow centre which was a bit claustrophobic and it wasn't a great day but I was happy to have a final play scheme day.
The next day I was back to the youth scheme and we went to the Stowe (again). But in the afternoon we had a dance instructor come to do a dance class. But she was a bit sexually explicit in her dance moves and at times the guys in the group got a little bit carried away. But it broke the day up and gave us a good laugh so it was a much better day than normally at the Stowe.
The Wednesday was spent at the Stowe in the morning and then bowling in the afternoon. We put the bumpers down which was great cause it meant that I never missed. Most of the youth used the ramp and they kept getting strikes. I won!! YAY! And I did actually get a couple of strikes that didn't bounce off the sides so you all better watch out when I get back! (Although I only won by 10 points in the end!).
The next day I was put with a youth that could be described as quite high risk and we were heading to the Science museum. As the last time I had been with a high-risk youth had actually been a complete disaster I was a bit nervous especially as I had barely met the youth. But we got a really good connection and was better behaved than people think he ever has been - which was such a relief. We got separated from the group at the Imax cinema and so ended up watching the movie without the 3D glasses which meant that all the dinasaurs were a little bit blurred!
That Friday I was put with the same guy and this time at the Stowe. This meant that he would have less distractions, but if anything the day was actually better than the previous one. In the end we sat in the gym area for about two hours making noises and listening to the echo.
That night we had drinks again and as always had a really great time.
Saturday was uneventful but then Sunday I headed to the Notting Hill Carnival which had a really exciting atmosphere. I walked around for a while and then met up with Paul from work and headed back to his place where I sat with his friends and listened from their balcony. Then Paul, his girlfriend and I headed out to the carnival and walked around. We then arranged to meet Jasper from work and a bunch of his friends. After a little bit Paul and his girlfriend headed back and the rest of us kept walking around and then ended up sitting in a park. Everything shut down quite early and then we headed to Jasper's sister's place and watched some TV, and then I headed back to Acton and home.
Monday was a public holiday and was also the day I had to move out so I spent a bit of time packing everything up and then leaving that evening to spent my final week of work at my Nana's place.
The next day i had another really good day with one of the more challenging youth and we headed to the park (from the stowe) in the afternoon. I really enjoy working the more challenging children as it makes the day go much faster and its often much more exciting. But the next day I was with a guy who hates doing a lot of things including swimming so we ended up sitting watching for 2 hours and entered into a whole new area of boredom. And then right when I wished something would happen somebody dropped one of the really hard plastic shower gel bottles (which was full) from the level above and it landed right on my foot leaving a huge bump and a cut. However when I asked the lifeguards for a band aid they were so slow that I'd completely stopped bleeding and gave up on them. We then headed to Ebory for the rest of the day which was okay but the day was a bit of a right off for me. The next day we went to see Evan Almighty at the movies which was okay and amazingly all of the youth group seemed to really enjoy the movie.
My final day was spent swimming with one of the play scheme guys who I'd a really fun day with three weeks earlier and who had been complaining endlessly to the organiser that we hadn't been put together again since. We had a awesome day and then headed to the youth group end of semester party which was pretty crap because none of the parents came as expected.
Everyone brought food to work that day and we all pigged out straight after we finished. Then most of us headed to the pub for a great final night. I was really upset to leave the job because I really loved everything about it, and really loved having regular friends again who I saw often instead of having to make a new bunch every few days. So at this point I wasn't very excited about travelling again, I would've prefered to stay at work for a bit longer.
I spent Saturday with my Nana and then Saturday night I went to Nels (Croatia) birthday dinner in Brick Lane which is famous for Indian food. I had a really great night. On Sunday I travelled back to Barbara's place and then on Monday headed into London for the final of my injections, and Tuesday I headed to Ipswich for my National Insurance Number Appointment.
Then on Wednesday I headed to Luton Airport for my flight to Budapest, which will the next post and I'm having a really good time here.
Cya
Alex
PS. Sorry I know this one wasn't the most interesting, the next one should be better!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb