One second in Brighton


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Brighton
December 14th 2008
Published: February 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I stayed in Brighton for approximately 5 minutes.
Saturday morning, I watched the weather segment of the news and saw a huge cloud over the entire southern portion of the country. Bad winds and rain summed up the weather report. We went to Brighton anyway.
It took about 45 minutes to reach the southern city of Brighton. We figured we were all layered up and had brought our umbrellas, we would be fine. We stepped out of the station and immediately our umbrellas turned inside out! It was FREEZING! We were walking in a group and I couldn't even look up, I just followed Alyse's boots! Apparently, we were walking towards the ocean, that's all I knew. I just followed. We took a pitstop in Boots, the English version of Walgreens or CVS, to replace the few umbrellas that had flipped inside out one too many times. My umbrella had only lost one of the supportive pieces so I decided against buying a new umbrella. From here, we continued on towards the sea. I gave up on holding my umbrella since I was already soaked and walked with my hood up. It was only when we reached corners that it was umbearably windy.
We reached the corner that ended at the seawall and the boardwalk and made the executive decision that we WOULD be going to the beach that day, no matter what. The pictures can tell that experience.............
After an excruciating amount of time, we reached a restaurant where we peeled off the soaking layers and ordered hot chocolate and a hot meal. Breakfast over, we stepped outside and Andrea and I immediately decided we were done. The rest of the girls wanted to see the Royal Pavillion but I was soaked and freezing and completely over the rain so we split up. Andrea and I walked in the direction of the train station. This is when we had our first encounter with POUNDLAND. We had heard about this amazing place where everything was supposed to be only a pound, but neither of us had seen one in London. The place was packed but was full of fun things like glasses that flashed when you drank from them. I did ask andrea if her glass had a price on it and a woman leaned over and said "ahem, everything is a pound". DUH.
The most amazing thing about Poundland was the final piece of my Christmas pubcrawl outfit. My friends and I were doing a Christmas pubcrawl later that night in which everyone must dress up as something Christmasy. The girls and I were reindeer and I was Cupid! I had wings, antlers, and mistletoe, but the only thing missing was a bow and arrow. Note: they do not have American Indian things in poundland. However, I took a glance at the girls toys and there was an angel costume! The bag had a bib, a bow and arrow, and a wand. That would have to be the weirdest angel accessories I've ever seen! Andrea and I left Poundland extremely content and headed towards the train station once again. It had also stopped raining.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

pub crawlpub crawl
pub crawl

dancer, vixon, cupid, blitzen, and dasher


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb