House of Duomo - Part 2


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Brighton
May 21st 2008
Published: May 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello there!

Well, by now, if you have been keeping up to date you will know that I've had a bit of a hair cut. There have been mainly positive reviews of the new do, apart from my Mum whose very positive response when I told her was, "But you are going to grow it, aren't you dear?" And of course, you Scud, a very eloquent comment! Good save!

So I ventured into a hairdressers after a day of London sightseeing with the Team. I had been complaining about needing a hair cut for weeks, at least since I was in Italy, so I needed to bite the bullet. Launching myself into the shop I was immediately accosted by the head stylist, a Syrian man with a very Farrah Fawcett style do, who I think may be quite mad. After assuring me that he would do a great job despite my particularly wishy washing description of what I wanted, I decided to trust him, after all, what was the worst that could happen? Well...sitting in that chair I did get increasingly nervous and was almost convinced that I was going to have to borrow Bob and John's clippers when I got back to the flat. Anyway, eventually I escaped, vaguely alive, slightly shaken, despite being asked out for a drink!

Now I have an excuse for the awful style I am sporting in the shots of me in Brighton - clearly more product required - I can get on to the travel side of the blog.

On Friday Angie, Bob, John and I jumped onto the train to Brighton. Miss Sami left us for a hot date in Nottingham so we were off to the seaside. After the glorious weather we had been experiencing it was inevitable that the day we decided to go to the beach was cold and windy, wasn't it? The train trip took all of 50 minutes which I was suprised at - gosh this country is small - and along the way the various opinions my team mates and I have about child raising became very apparent because we were blessed with 3 small train travellers...so much for my nap. Arriving in Brighton we beelined towards the water, after all, that's what we were there for! There was much commentary about the sand v stone/pebbles arguement, a rather amusing incident with John 'shaking' the sand out of his jeans - dork - and then a walk along the pier. The Brighton Pier has a number of amusements, mainly gambling and gaming arcades, althought there is a range of fun fair rides like the mousetrap ride and bumper cars. It was pretty expensive though - £8 for a decent ride. Deciding on fish and chips for lunch (when in Rome...) we headed off the pier and onto the beach where the sun arrived! Indulging in come beloved sun worshipping, we tested out some scientific analysis of sand v stones for catching some rays. The pebbles were so successful that I fell asleep!

At some point we dragged our sleepy selves off the beach (I'm really not sure why we did that?). I think our goal was to prove we actually saw something of Brighton other than the English Channel and the inside of our eyelids! So toddling off into town we found that the Brighton Festival was on that weekend -we really didn't plan that very well - and if we had been a little more organised we could have seen Tim Minchin! Damn it! Anyway, I have to say, after having a good wander around I really like Brighton, it has a really good vibe and some really awesome hippy streets. Celebrating the day with a well deserved beer - ok, I confess, I had a water and a lemonade - we eventually struggled back up the hill to the train.

Now when the weather is fine, as I have mentioned, both in the UK and in New York, people start to get naked, or at least strip off more than is acceptable! Here, while it is now illegal to smoke in pubs etc, it seems it is still very legal to drink outside of these establishments. So on the Saturady after our trip to Brighton, I found myself, on 2 separate occasions drinking in the street, feeling as if, at any moment, a police person would come along and give me a thorough telling off! Drinking first in a pub right across the road from Borough Market, and on the street that the hide out from the movie 'Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Barrels', then in the George Inn (I think that was it's name), I caught up with my cousin Peter and his mates. So weird to be with family after having only my mum and sister in Perth. But cool nonetheless - and I have a free couch to sleep on for a couple of nights when my team mates leave me!

Later that night found me again drinking in the street! This time with my Team Duomo buddies at our Contiki friend, Jess's leaving party. Sadly for me, our new friend is on her way back to Australia after 18 months in the UK. It is amazing how many Aussie's are here in London - and I think most of them were at the Duke's Head in Putney that Saturday night, drinking in the street!

As you can see from other blog entries, food is playing a key role along my travels. Sunday found me picnicing on the steps of St Paul's Cathedral (some how I didn't get a photo!), completely forgetting to sing or 'Feed the Birds'. I think I forgot because the weather was so fabulous! Inside the duomo is magnificent, so ornate. And there is a Refectory! - sorry, Murdoch joke. Angie kindly treated us to chocolate maccaroons from Paul's, a patisserie that she had been raving about and had happily discovered had an outlet next to the cathedral. And I can assure you, she is right, these are absolutely fantabulous! Walking east we made our way to the Petticoat Lane markets. No petticoats to be seen but I replaced the sunglasses that I'm sure that Carter booby trapped.

Returning to Willsden Green, we arrived home only to discover that our roof had caved in! The ceiling directly under our bathroom had collapsed, directly into the stairwell, fortunately not crushing anyone. Now using the bathroom became a exteme sport, with the potential for bath-surfing an ever present hazard. Leaving Bob and I to indulge in an Indian takeaway and some tv - Shaun of the Dead (which I hadn't seen), Ang and John headed out to see 3 Seconds to Mars - mmmmn, Jared!

More sightseeing at the National Gallery - still loving Degas - visiting the Science Museum, taking in some theatre - you totally have to go and see Wicked, it's, well, Wicked!

On the family front, I also caught up with my second cousin Stephen for dinner, which was fabulous. Heading into Covent Garden, two for one mojitos and then dinner at a very cool French restaurant, we caught up for the first time since I left England for Australia - when I was six! So needless to say there was a lot to catch up on! And, after a couple of cocktails and half a bottle of white, I trotted into Chinatown to meet up with the team, somewhat merry!

Unfortunately the following day was the end of the road for the House of Duomo. Bob and John headed out early to Heathrow, attempting to make their flight to Ireland, which of course they missed! And Ang, Sami and I made our way to Earl's Court, where they were staying for the evening before their flights to Thailand the next day. After manhandling our bags all the way there - and almost leaving Sami's on the platform at one of the underground stations - we made it, somewhat worse for wear. We spent the afternoon doing some final sightseeing, heading to the Royal Opera House for Sami, Convent Garden for the shopping and just generally saying goodbye until next time. We even managed to fit in a hot chocolate at our favourite place near Piccadilly Circus.

But eventually, all good things come to an end and I had to say goodbye - but not before travelling on peak hour on the tube with all my bags to Bond St. So, waiting outside the tube station for my cousin Pete to meet me, my lovely girls waited with me, whiling away the final moments until we headed our separate ways.

And that, as they say, was that. The House of Duomo, never to be the same again, but hopefully to be revived in the future. This trip was all about visiting new places and meeting new people and I am so happy to say I have made such wonderful friends - even if they are Aussies! But seriously, you couldn't meet more wonderful people and I am already plotting my travels around Australia to visit you all! xxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

RefectoryRefectory
Refectory

I thought only Murdoch had one of these! This is at St Paul's Cathedral.
Paul's = Ang's favPaul's = Ang's fav
Paul's = Ang's fav

Absolutely bloody awesome chocolate maccaroons
John...John...
John...

really likes old cameras
Trafalgar SquareTrafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square

In sunny London


25th May 2008

awww.. its funny.. ive been to all those places before.. yet.. gulp... 9 years ago ! how old am i ?!?! sounds like youre having an awesome time, then again.. i know you are... xxx im still pissed your bear is orange. hiding secrets from me ... bah !!! ;-) love you, and your funky hair cut. i love it !! inspirational for sure!

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb