Heathrow Injection


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Brighton
March 31st 2008
Published: March 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Borough MarketsBorough MarketsBorough Markets

& I ate every last crumb
Such a warm weekend this week... I think it got to 9 degrees today! & the sun was out... momentarily... which is absolute luxury :o) I had a lovely time with Reece who came down from London for a visit. I was in London last weekend as well so its been great to see each other. Both weekends involved lots of walking around & eating myself stupid. I understand why many people suffer from the "Heathrow Injection" (putting on 10kg) because a) there is so much good- cheap- food & b) its so bloody cold that a gorgeous layer of toxins keeps the body warm:o) Especially considering it snowed last week! The amount of people I have had tell me that I'm absolutely crazy for coming here when its 30 degrees back home is astronomical.

Whilst in London I went to the Burrough markets & was absolutely beside myself there. How anyone could refrain from eating the rasberry cheescake, chocolate fondant, spinach & sundried tomato quiche, hand-made chocolate, goji berries, and of course roast turkey & cranberry bagette with stuffing that I ate... well, its beyond me... a person who can resit such temptations I just can't relate to... Nor
Tara's B'dayTara's B'dayTara's B'day

This place was FULL of Aussies.
do I want to!! I did well to get out of there with just that.... there was a croissant with my name on it but I've had many of those & thought I would go for the food less travelled.

This weekend was no exception. After spending a week of eating fantastically cheap (for the UK) & nutritious (mostly organic) home cooked meals here... I spent the weekend in absolute meltdown with everything from pie to sunday roasts & cupcakes. I think Reece just brings out the best in me :o).. Yes, Reece, I'm blaming it on you. We spent our time just wondering around town etc. We also visited the Brighton Pier & went on this old, quite possibly not legally workable, rollercoaster ride which was not all that scary as far as rollercoasters go.. but the fact that the old thing might fall into the ocean at any moment & end up in a 2 minute slot on the evening news did add a hint of excitement :o)

Work is going alright. Not much to report. Its quite a large company & I think its quite good to work for... not that I plan to be there for long anyway... Went to the "local" after work on Friday which was nice. Everyone that I have met are genuinely nice. Then I went around to a friend's place for dinner.

All in all, a great week. Things are coming along nicely. I'm terribly poor & loving every miute of it:o). I'm also picking up some of the lingo- favourites include but are not limited to "itn' it" (type: emphasis/ space filler. Use: "I'm at work itn' it"). "well" (synonym: very, use "oh, that'd be well good". "Hiya" (type: greeting. one word. Synonym: Hi. Use: Hiya (to everyone, all day long). and my personal favourite: "alri'ht?" (Type: Question. Synonym: How are you/ are you ok? use: greeting.). This all ties together for a common covo such as a morning phone call from a friend.
"Hiya"
"Hiya"
"alri'ht?"
"mm, my weeken' was well good. Wat you doin?"
"I'm at work Itn' it!"

;o)

Will keep you posted. My love to all. Its been great to hear from those who've been in contact. For some reason not all of you are getting the blog email alerts but hopefully this time around you will. *fingers crossed*

xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Tower BridgeTower BridgeTower Bridge

There are stacks of £million yachts & stuff around here... I wonder if they need a crew member....




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Good timesGood times
Good times

This is at my favourite cafe... it has the perfrect amount of froth in a h/c..& they add cinnamon!
The PierThe Pier
The Pier

Wow... is that sun???
Cupcake therapyCupcake therapy
Cupcake therapy

you know what's coming Prue...
Oooo... its a cup cake!!!Oooo... its a cup cake!!!
Oooo... its a cup cake!!!

Hey Mick, do these remind you of Steve's cookie photos?
... What cupcake?... What cupcake?
... What cupcake?

can't take me anywhere
Vegetarian shoesVegetarian shoes
Vegetarian shoes

Looks like leather- made of plastic... I'm waiting till they have the vegan ones.


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb