First brush with a UK beach


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Brighton
February 24th 2007
Published: March 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tom had planned for us to go to Brighton for the weekend, and I was excited to go somewhere outside of London for the first time since getting here.

We left on Friday evening and headed down there and it's only about an hour away. The hotel was in the marina and very nice. We had some amazing seafood and tried to carry on but it was pouring and we couldn't find anywhere that was open. That's England in the winter for you I guess.

The next day we went to a place I had looked up on the internet and desperately wanted to go to (because I'm a dork like that). It's the Royal Pavilion, a sort of castle which looks like it belongs in India, not in Brighton England. It was the summer home of George IV, Prince of Wales in the 1800's. It is immaculately decorated on the inside, as the whole thing was done in Chinese style. I wish I could have taken pictures as it seriously took my breath away!

That same day we mostly wandered around, in the town and on the beach. Unfortunately it got quite cold and we kept ducking
BeachBeachBeach

Even in the summer I don't think I would want to swim in this water or lie down on the hard rocks.
in coffeeshops as it was difficult to want to be outside at times. Again, Brighton is a place to go in the summer but as I won't be here in the summer I am trying not to let weather get in the way of me doing things. That night we had probably the nicest meal I've had whilst in London. Unfortunately though I had a brush with some kind of stomach virus that made me the sickest I've been in YEARS. The amazing meal was down the drain (literally) and we were worried I wouldn't even be able to leave the hotel the next day, I was that ill. Unfortunately also it wasn't just food poisoning as 24 hours later, back in London, Tom got just as ill as I had been so I felt guilty I had gotten him sick!

Overall a nice weekend away, despite the weather, up until the point I basically wanted to die. Best it happened during the weekend though, as I cannot miss work or school, and I would rather get sick in Brighton than in South Africa, that's for sure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Beach BoardwalkBeach Boardwalk
Beach Boardwalk

If you can call it that.


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb