From this to this...


Advertisement
Published: December 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So my bags are packed and I'm ready to go...

And how hard is it to pack 8 months worth of stuff into one bag??!...The last week has been spent packing, unpacking, filtering out more and more stuff until finally everything fits...And I'm still probably taking far too much according to all the backpacker blogs I've been reading...

They say take 6 tops (I'm taking 14), they say take 2 pairs of trousers (I'm taking 5), they say take 7 pairs of knickers (come on!...I've managed to cram 15 in!...and I'm sure I could still get more)...And every single person I've spoke to that's done this has said "Less is more, You'll end up throwing half your stuff away cos it weighs too much"...Well yes, I imagine that may well be the case but it's good to be prepared!...Let's see what happens...

Other luxury items include:

Clarins moisturiser

Headbands & Hair grips (hey if i'm not allowed my hair straighteners I need something to stop me looking like I'm trying to copy The Hoff's early eighties look)

Nail Polish (well, it's only tiny isn't it?)

Mascara (actually look dead and/or about 12 without it - neither good if buying beer)

That's it!...Not so bad is it?

But the biggest sacrifice?...I can't believe I brought myself to do it...the most un glamorous, "Butchos Lesbos" (no offence intended) piece of footwear I've ever put on my feet - The trekking sandals! (see photo)...From McQueen heels to these bad boys in one fail swoop...but I tell you what they're bloody comfy!...ha ha now I'm starting to sound like my Dad! 😊...Well I'm sure my feet will thank me for them when my Converse start pinching my toes and the Havainas aren't quite doing the job...but I still need some convincing...

So off for my train in a few hours, then it's bye bye UK, hello Kathmandu!...and hopefully my next photo will be slightly more what you'd expect to see on a travel blog...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb