Train Travel in the UK


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Durham County » Durham
September 11th 2013
Published: September 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ann & MichelleAnn & MichelleAnn & Michelle

At Melton Mowbray station; about to say goodbye!
I'm getting used to the British train system; as I start to write this I'm on the train, boarded at Leicester on my way to Derby. Having travelled from Melton Mowbray to Leicester by train, and with another change to catch a train to Durham once I arrive in Derby I'm beginning to feel that I know what I'm doing.

Ann drove me to the Melton station; one last cuddle before I left! Prior to arriving at the station we popped into our old Alma Mater - King Edward V11 Grammar School - which has closed and, having looked over it last year we expected some work to have been done to turn it into apartments. But nothing which was such a disappointment. It's such a gorgeous old building that I do hope something will be done soon. The sandwiches and fruit which Ann packed me were delicious; the best part being the tomatoes grown in Ann's garden. Thanks Ann!!! Overall I'm very impressed with the British Rail service despite the fact that there are so many different train companies to wade through. I'm eternally grateful for the article I read a few months ago in the SMH Traveller section which gave me all the clues enabling me to navigate my way through without too much hassle.

As I finish this I'm now settled into St Mary's College at Durham University...another adventure is about to commence!

Advertisement



11th September 2013

Always enjoy your blog
We look forward to your blogs Michelle and the photos are excellent as usual. I have just finished reading J K Rowlings 'The Cuckoo's Calling' which I enjoyed and it was enticing me back to London. That will probably happen in May/June 2014.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb