Training begins


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset
November 13th 2008
Published: November 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm now the proud owner of a North Face McMurdo Parka and an Intrepid Expeditions bivi bag, and have started my training for one week of survival in the Arctic in February 2009.

My training is a mix of the 16 week British Army fitness programme and the 12 week programme sent to me by Discover Adventure.

Unlike Everest I'm expecting this trip to be more about, all round strength and stamina. Whereas the trek in Nepal was all about lots and lots of walking, this time I'm going to need strength to dig snow holes and build shelters.

On 2nd November I went out for my first training walk in the New Forest traveling from Frogham to Fritham. Fortunately the rain held off and we completed in just enough time to meet a bunch of friends to watch the latest James Bond movie.

Last weekend we undertook a slightly longer walk around the Keyhaven marshes at Lymington. Sadly we didn't manage to avoid the rain this time, but somehow I think we're in for some very wet walks ahead.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb