Torquay on Torbay


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Torquay
July 4th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After Exeter, we wandered down to the coast to a town called Torquay, which is on Torbay. This area is known as the English Riveria, but having never seen the real (French) Riveria, I just have to take their word for it. In any case, the drive was beautiful, going up and down hills and through cutesy little towns, with peeks of the sea every so often. The only things open at this point were touristy souvenir shops and restaurants, but the bay was beautiful, filled with sailboats in the evening light. I also had the one moment that reminded me that it was the 4th of July - I stumbled upon an American flag on a pole! The mystery was explained when I saw a sign that said that some of the boats involved in D-Day launched from there on June 5, which I found fascinating. Enjoy the pictures! (And here's a route map.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb