Let the final countdown begin!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Newton Abbot
February 1st 2007
Published: February 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, I have left my job at the MDA (as of yesterday) and although I am sad to leave all the great people I worked with, I am so very excited!! My flights are booked and the plane I'm catching leaves heathrow on 20th February for Hong Kong. I'll be staying in Hong Kong for 4 days then flying to Sydney, landing on the 25th. I'm gonna be staying in Australia for about a year, hopefully. I plan to work in Sydney for about 3 months then travel up the east coast with Oz Experience finishing at Cairns over about a 2 month period. The plan from then gets a little blurry and there will be a large amount of 'winging it', but hey that's all part of the fun!!! All I know is I will be going to explore the west coast as well. When my time is up in Oz I am flying out from Melbourne to Christchurch in the South Island ofr New Zealand and from there I will work my way up to Auckland in the North Island over 2-3 weeks. From Auckland I will fly to Fiji, hopefully, although I have to let the plane company know and pay an extra £65 but so what IT'S FIJI!! I'll stay a week in Fiji, then i'll be shooting of to LA where, if I have the money, I will spend a month travelling around Calafornia which will be S-WEEEEEEET!
My accomodatiuon for Hong Kong is booked, at £4 a night!!! And my first weeks accomodation in Oz is booked but other than that i am just going with the flow, which sounds great now but when i get there i'll probably regret not booking up more but ah well. All that's left to sort out is my travel insurance so that when i jump out of a plane and my parachute doesn't open I can claim on....wait a minute errrrrm. aaaaaaanyway.

I'll be uploading pictures and just chatting about stuff i've been doing so please comment and keep in touch 'cos i'm gonna miss you all A LOT!

19 DAYS TO GO!!!! 😊

Advertisement



1st February 2007

Make sure you write a will before you go, infact why not invest in life insurance....just make me the main benificary if you disappear into the outback :) I'll be seeing you in 17days! so remember you have that long to do the above ;)
2nd February 2007

Yippee!!!! son is leaving home - I'm free! Just joking I'll miss you, but I do know that you will be 'living the dream' of so many people who have said 'I always wanted to travel, but never did'. Go for it.
19th February 2007

Hahaha Its quite funny that after years of dreams of going places and whatnot ... you actually have booked tickets and are going =] Good Luck .. and i hope winging it works =] .... i think i have some relatives in australia... if youre on the brink of death at any point... P=
19th February 2007

:(
Dude this is gonna suck so bad. I'm seriously gonna miss you man. Have fun though and stuff. I love you man :(
20th February 2007

GOOD LUCK
Well from what I have read, you gonna have the time of your life! have fun! and you better use this blog loads! or else I will be very very upset! lol have fun! love Rose xxx
21st March 2007

Re Phone Call
Jon, Tks for the call. I feel a bit more reassured that you will now watch your actions. So my little boy is feeling home sick!!! Or should I say missing the home comforts and the pressence of your mum. Was surprised to hear you are now cutting your total trip down to 7 to 9 months, perhaps when you settle down to some work you might change your mind. Godd luck with the American connection. Keep the blog going. All the best Dad.

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb