Lost Stuff


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire
May 12th 2007
Published: May 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Weather Report

Started quite bright then gloomy with occasional showers.
Sunny from mid-afternoon.

First part of the day achieved that which I had planned then things went a little awry. Visited the only two settlements in the area to which I had not given my favour including the delightful church at Thriplow. Moved on to the RSPB reserve and once the rain stopped set-off on the circular nature trail which included a number of bird hides. Failed to see the Marsh Harrier that the warden told me about but had an enjoyable and relaxing wander around a this wild area.

When I arrived at my next stop - Wimpole Hall - I could find neither mobile ‘phone nor wallet. Emptied the car and rucksack to no avail. Went back to Thriplow - no sign of said items in the church. Returned to the RSPB reserve no sign there. Retraced my steps all the way round the nature trail but no success. Returned to camp site a tad dispirited. Telephoned bank to cancel cards - should have ‘phoned home first. Phoned mother who greeted me with the words ‘you have lost your wallet’. Obviously clairvoyant - wallet had been discovered lying in the middle of the road leading from the RSPB. Contacted the kind gentleman who had made the discovery and successfully retrieved with its contents including cash intact. No ‘phone, however.

I rarely lose anything but have a bad habit of exiting a car and putting things momentarily on the roof - as we all do. Guess I did that here but the ‘phone probably leapt off before the wallet. Anyway of course once cards are cancelled they stayed cancelled so have to wait for that to arrive and somehow then retrieve from Southend. Telephone was not such a disaster because it transpires that I have had the ‘phone for so long that I am entitled to an updated version for only £7.80 including postage. Only problem was that I had no way of paying because my cards had been cancelled. ‘Phone company insisted I had to pay with a card in my name. Rules are rules. I politely asked them to bend a little which they did and ‘phoned mother to extract money from her card ! Thanks mother. While all his was going on the sun was shining - probably a moral there !

A long day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb