Returning to the UK


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Girton
January 27th 2006
Published: January 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After another bout of diarrhoea in the night, at about midnight I decided to try to get back to the UK as quickly as possible. I phoned home to tell them. Patrick was awake, and a contact of his allowed us to work out there was a flight that morning, leaving at 9:45am. I packed my bag, to prepare to leave. I slept very little, only one hour after midnight. I was very worried about whether I would be able to get on the plane. I did not eat any breakfast and imodiumed up to avoid any diarrhoea. I said goodbye and left the house, to be taken the airport. I was feeling pretty rough. At the airport I was able to change my ticket easily enough (although there was of course a cost). There were no questions asked about my health.

I ate some toast whilst I waited for the plane in the departure lounge, but I was only able to eat a single slice, and felt tachycardia again. I managed to board ok though.

On the plane I relaxed a bit more, and I was just about OK for the first few hours, drinking as much as I could, and eating what few foods I could eat. Beyond halfway, I felt weaker, and started to feel pins and needles in my feet and hands, and reported this to the Pursur (senior stewardess). I sat at the back of the plane for a couple of hours. I felt hot to the touch, in spite of the fact I actually was feeling cold. I was able to drink a bit more, and eat some more bread (one of the few foods I could eat - they offered me fatty meat or spicy chicken and rice for lunch). I felt a bit better after a couple of hours, and I was sent back to my seat. After a bit of a delay at Heathrow, I managed to make my way through Immigration, Baggage and Customs and was greeted by my parents. We drove back to Cambridge, through the cold, rain and even snow. I managed to eat, what was for me, a large meal and went to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb