Day 2 - Berkhamsted to Aylesbury


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Buckinghamshire
June 24th 2006
Published: June 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


After a full english breakfast I found I could still walk and headed out along the canal. Today I was followed all the way along the canal by one herron or there are about 5-6 herrons living along the canal between Berkhamsted and Aylesbury... are there any wildlife experts out there who could tell me whether there are that many herrons around or if it was probably the same herron???

Walking was fine and I got through the 99 green bottle song over about 2 miles but I think I mis-counted a lot and it may really have actually been about 127 green bottles.

I am also glad to report Elvis is still alive and driving a canal boat down the Grand Union Canal in the direction of London at the moment. This chap had Elvis music playing, the big gold specs on and the full quiff in his hair whilst steering the boat. Anoyingly I couldn't get my camera out in time to take a photo for you!

Hannah walked out from Aylesbury to meet me along the canal and she was like an angel appearing in the distance on the tow path! By this time my feet were pretty sore and I was really tired so Hannah motivated me to keep going. Then she carried my ruck sack for me, which was killing me by this time, so I have decided she is brill, mint, fierce and a lovely person all round! Then it got even better when I got to her house and she made me a cup of tea and bought me cold water to put my feet in... absolute heaven!

Comments from passers by today as I walked along:
"Gosh you'll be hot with that on"
"Looks like a good idea" (whilst I was eating lunch by the side of the canal)
"How far are you going?" "To Liverpool" I replied "Christ that's a Long Walk" was his reply!
"Your carrying a lot for such a hot day"
"I've found your pedometer" This guy had seen me and Hannah looking for my pedometer, which had fallen off again, and when we passed him told him we had given up looking for it. He then took his 2 arthritic dogs and went back found the pedometer for me and then caught me and Hannah up to give me back my pedometer. Apparently his sister married a man who lived in Liverpool and worked at the factory that made pipecleaners. Surprisngly neither me or Hannah knew his brother-in-law.


Todays Stats
Miles today - 12.49 miles
Miles Cumulative - 24.69 miles
Steps Cumulative - 58,206
Start Time - 08.30
End Time - 17.00
Blisters - 9
Chocolate Bars - 1
Rain - None
Temp @ Noon - 23c


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



26th June 2006

Well done
Keep it up Helen - We're all thinking of you. You are very special to all of us. Love. Kirsty, Andrew, Isaac and Reuben
26th June 2006

Pain & gain
Let your feet recover and then carry on! See you soon - all the best.

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb