Preparation and anticipation


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Buckinghamshire
April 21st 2006
Published: April 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Chiltern ramblingChiltern ramblingChiltern rambling

Graham heads off in search of a pint.
Graham and I have a very different approach to preparations for our big trip. I'm up to my eyes in planning and administration wondering where the last few weeks have gone and how we're going to get everything done before we depart. Graham is pacing like a caged beast desperate just to pack our bags and leave on the next plane.

We've never done this kind of thing before and I'm hoping our combination of organisation (me) and action (Gra) will be a winner. He's great in a crisis and able to make decisions and stick to them. I'm worried about a million things and hopelessly indecisive, but we're both keen to see what's out there and have some adventures together.

We're hoping to make it to all these countries, taking our time in some and just passing through a few others:

Spain, Brazil, Argentina, Peru, Bolivia, Chile, NZ, Australia, South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi, Tanzania.

We're also hoping to walk the Inca Trail, see big waterfalls, scubadive, climb a few hills and mountains, witness amazing wildlife and spend a little bit of time on the odd beach or two. But these are just the
Thirsty ponyThirsty ponyThirsty pony

We met this cheeky windswept pony on a long walk round our end of the Chilterns.
plans. Although I've spent most of the last few months working it all out, I am quite prepared to chuck the notebook out the window once we're on the road.

There is so much I'm going to miss about home. Friends, family and other animals aside, I'm going to miss the place I've been living in for the last few years: watching the lambs outside in the field and the red kites swooping low over the barn, sniffing the delicious Chiltern air and waiting for the bluebells to bloom. I feel like I'm leaving somewhere so very English behind, the contrasts are going to be even greater.

Advertisement



7th May 2006

oooh
oh dear my eyes are stinging and you have not left yet!! Love the format and lay out of the travel blog , picture me eagerly reading every word as you write from far away. love you Tabs

Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 81; dbt: 0.1167s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb