Passport? Check. Money? Check. A Change of clothes? Check.


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Song playing here or in my head: KLF - Last train to Trancentral

Right, time for my first proper entry on here. I’ve been a member for 2 months now and all I have contributed is a picture of me drunk at the 2004 Berlin beerfest. There is some top blogging going on here and it is good to see some people at places where I have been having a good time and people in places where I can’t wait to get to having a great time. I WANT TO GO NOW!!!!

First of all, let’s introduce myself. I am a 25 year old who wants to see the world. God knows how I could have done it with a mortgage and a job. It had its rewards but not enough, as always! I was lucky though, fate was on my side. I got made redundant! My former (not at this exact moment though) employees gave me bucketloads of cash to stay for a extra 4 months. I, being a moneygrabbing type jumped at the chance. And then said “sod doing work for a living, lets go explore the world!”

So here I am, sitting here on
Not the last Buddist temple I will see in the next yearNot the last Buddist temple I will see in the next yearNot the last Buddist temple I will see in the next year

This is one in Milton Keynes, on Willen Lake. The first to be built in the western hemisphere fact fans.
my computer that I will soon be giving to my auntie, typing my first official travelblog.com entry. I WILL BE ON THE NEW BLOGGERS LIST SOON!

So much to do and I only have a month to go, Let out house, cancel bills, sell car, buy new practical clothes and gear, get injected with loads of lifesaving stuff, update ipod and save a little money for getting as drunk as a ex £íb€®á™á employee at a £íb€®á™á leaving do.

My first stop in July is the Almeria region in Spain, not the first stop for a scruffy traveller I know, but I am going with the folks for my first family holidays in 10 years so it should be fun! Can’t wait really, sunbathing and drinking is the easy life, it will sure be a lot easier than trying to find somewhere to stay at 10p.m after a 20 hour bus ride in 45 Celsius somewhere in Asia. I really can’t wait for that either!

Then I am going to laze around the UK and watch loads of Cricket, the greatest game on earth (OK then, maybe football😉). I am lucky enough to have tickets for the
Mmmmm....Mmmmm....Mmmmm....

Just a few to keep me in practice for beer fuelled mayhem in Prague and Berlin this August.
Thursday, Friday and Sunday of the first test of the Ashes at Lords. Did I mention that I am going to 3 of the first 4 days of the Ashes?

Once I am cooked to a crust sunbathing for the whole of July I am off to Prague with a good mate called Rick. To drink cheap Czech beer and enjoy the summer. BUT THAT’S NOT ALL! We are going to Berlin to meet up with Pat (Good luck mate), Dave & Martin for a stag weekend at the 9th Berlin International Beer Festival. This will be my 4th year in a row. I will be taking it easy this year though, as I am 1 year older and the journey ahead is a large one, I don’t want to mess it all up before even starting.

Once all that is over I am off to Istanbul, to start a trip even I don’t know if I can do or not. There is only one way of knowing. GO FOR IT.

Turkey to Australia, via as many places as my wallet lets me, hopefully long enough so I can be in Australia for the ashes tour in
Take it to the BridgeTake it to the BridgeTake it to the Bridge

My workplace for the past 8 years
2006/07.

Wish me luck!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

View from the Tourettes window at workView from the Tourettes window at work
View from the Tourettes window at work

This view got swore at quite a bit in the past few years, but it kept me sane at the same time.


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb