Reflections


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Buckinghamshire » Aylesbury
October 26th 2011
Published: October 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Peri WeepuPeri WeepuPeri Weepu

Attempting the conversion
Flight boarded on time but didn't take off until 14:00 (45 mins late). However, a good tail wind meant we made up the time and we landed at 17:16.
We made it through security and collected our bags OK. I had been carrying my kilt so I handed it back to George for his flight back to Newcastle. We said our good byes. We'd spent nearly 1 month together and we'd had an absolutlely brilliant time. My thanks to George for being such a great travelling companion and for putting up with me for so long!
Many thanks to Phil W for picking me up from Heathrow. He was there ready and waiting (although still in his paint spattered work clothes! I had expected a peaked cap and a message reading "Mr Guy")
We made good time back to Aston Abbotts. Ruby couldn't quite make me out as I'd been away for so long!
So here I am the next morning completing my last blog.
I had intended summarising the trip but so much happened it would be impossible.
All I can say is that if you get the opportunity go and visit New Zealand. It is an awesome place.
There
My mate GeorgeMy mate GeorgeMy mate George

At the final
are only 4 million people in a country bigger than Great Britain. The sights and sounds are spectacular and I would certainly go back again (but not for the rugby!)
Highlights? Well here is my top 5:

1. Scenic Flight to Mount Cook
2. White Island Volcano - Bay of Plenty
3. Overnight cruise of Doubtful Sound
4. Rotorua mudpools and geysers
5. Queenstown - Especially the Jet Boat
5. Vineyards and Mussel farm

I'm sure the whale watch would have been brilliant if it wasn't for the sick bags and the fact we saw no whales! and if I do go back I would do the scenic railway journey again and pray for good weather!

We met some fantistic people and my special thanks go to Jo, Richard & Rosemary for there hospitality. My thanks also to my other travelling companions John & Ross.

I hope you've all enjoyed reading the blog. Next trip? Well The Lions tour to Australia in 2013 is looking a good bet (but I'd better discuss it with Sue first!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

IncheonIncheon
Incheon

Tallest building in Korea (apparently!)


Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1016s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb