Gettin to Brig


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Naters
January 10th 2012
Published: January 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

view from my room on my first day here.
I figure I should update you all on how my travels to Switzerland went. It was, for the most part, pretty boring.

The flight from SeaTac to Frankfurt was very long, but I survived. The airport in Frankfurt is very Large, and there were so many people everywhere. It smelled like hotdogs, but good hotdogs. There were little stands all over the place that sold soft pretzels, coffees, and some sort of sausages(the source of the smell). Expensive, name-brand stores lined the terminal walkways in addition to these stands.
There were SO many sandwiches! All the little cafes had lots of types of fresh sandwiches stacked up high behind a plastic divider. Fresh fruit was also a popular item at these cafes.

On the search for my next gate, I found a US penny heads up on the floor. I took it as a sign that I was going to have some good luck that day. Besides that, Frankfurt, at least the part that I saw from the plane, reminded me of Seattle. It was grey sky and raining. NO FREE WIFI!! Another fun fact: The janitorial service at the airport wears an all bright teal colored uniform, including
Photo 10Photo 10Photo 10

Brig's Castle.
cargo pants and a 1/2 zip sweatshirt...



Getting onto the plane to Zurich was interesting. We all piled onto a little bus that shuttled us out to a waiting, TINY plane. There were only about 35 people on this flight, and it was short, too. We had enough flight time to get up, get a drink and piece of Swiss chocolate, and decend. When we arrived in Zurich, the terminal and most of the airport, was empty. It also smelled like rubber tires, and there was also no free wifi. I grabbed my checked bags and had my little breakdown because I didn't really know where to go next. Fortunately, once I manned up enough to leave the baggage claim area, the signs to the train station were clearly labeled.

I finally made it to the ticket counter to purchase a train ticket, and a half-fare card for the country. Unfortunately, I didn't have a spare passport photo, so I had to exchange some Euros (that my wonderful brother gave me years ago) for some swiss francs and find my way to a photobooth in some awkward corner of the airport. I managed to figure it
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

our main little street and a big mountain.
all out even thought it was all written in German.

After all this stress, I managed to get my half-fare card, ticket, and call the school with left-over change & a pay phone to arrange a pick-up, and I still managed to make the train with 5 minutes to spare.

A 2.5 hour train ride was a nice break, and I dozed off a few times; it was too dark to see any good views.



After a few days here in Brig, I've started to settle in and bond with the other people in my group. Classes are long, and wearing business clothes all day is no fun. There are very strict rules here, but we've managed to have some fun. I haven't really gotten to explore the town too much, but I was able to take a few quick pictures.


Probably heading to Milan this weekend, so I'll keep you posted.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

Sunny day view from my room
Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

TRAIN!
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

another mountain, and another glimpse at the town.
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

mountain...apartments.
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

more mountain. more apartments.
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

Hillside with lots of little homes on it. Don't know how they get there...


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb