Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Lauterbrunnen
July 22nd 2012
Published: November 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Switzerland was by far my favourite country, as it was love at first site. Driving into Switzerland i was awe struck by the beautiful snow capped mountains and lush green scenery.

Once we had arrived to our location of Lauterbrunnen, we were greeted by cute little log cabin houses and the a massive waterfall as our backdrop. As we settles in our little log cabin campsite, we went to the dinner tent to sample the local cuisine. Inside there were huge pots of cheese fondue over small flames at each table, which I enjoyed far too much! It was then followed by a delicous roast dinner, no wonder I had trouble fitting into my jeans that night!

After dinner we went to the campsites pub to have a few drinks, well thats how it started anyway. After more than a few drinks a good dance, as after a few I like to think I can dance like Beyoncé i snuggles into bed, ready for the day ahead.

I woke up super excited for my trip to Jungfrau, as it's not every day one gets to travel to the highest train station in Europe and enjoyed the jaw dropping scenery on the long, earpopping journey. The sound of cowbells, was our only audible sound, until the crashing of a large avalanche interupting the soft chiming. It was amazing to see and I was glad we were at a safe distance too!

Once at the top, I took the oppertunity to write a few postcards before exploring the station. First stop was the ice cave, which was filled with dosens of ice sculptures. even the floor was made of ice and I had to resist the temptation of sliding around, as knowing my clumsy self I would end up on the floor with a bruised ego. This was when I met some of the others on the trip and they told me of how the completed the top deck challenge of posing for a photo on the moutain top in just their underwear. Well i was never one to pass down a challenge and I never felt so empowered or cold in my entire life.

After a snowball fight and seeing all there was to see at Jungfrau (which is an awful lot and took all day) we headed back the the village and I had a warm treat of brownies and hot chocolate. Followed by another massive dinner and more drinks at the pub, which led to me being called disco bunny my tour guide for the next three days.

All I can say is bring on Italy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Swiss AlpsSwiss Alps
Swiss Alps

The view from Jungfrau: The highest train station in Europe.
Switzerland Switzerland
Switzerland

Scenery on the way to our campsite
Top Deck challenge: CompleteTop Deck challenge: Complete
Top Deck challenge: Complete

A very flattering photo of myself on top of the Swiss Alps, with my leggings round my knees
Cheese Fondue Cheese Fondue
Cheese Fondue

Enjoying the local cuisine a little too much!


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb