Switzerland and the Snow


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Lauterbrunnen
September 12th 2011
Published: January 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

In Switzerland we stayed in this great little hostel in Lauterbrunnen, deep in a valley underneath the highest single-drop waterfall in Europe. It was incredible; I couldn’t have picked a better spot.

Our first day in Switzerland we headed up the mountain on a two hour train ride to the top of Jungfrau, the highest railway station in Europe and of course, the snow. Now I’ve never seen snow before so on the slow ride to the top my excitement was at boiling point. When I finally walked out of the tunnel and onto the snow it was awe inspiring. Snow is actually way cooler that I thought it would be, I just kept walking around with this stupid grin on my face, picking up snow and running it through my hands. What’s more, the view from the “Top of Europe” was spectacular, breathtaking, photos and words really can’t describe it. I didn’t do any snowboarding because I figured I’d rather learn to board properly than fall off 20 times. But I really did love it up there, just so, I don’t know, peaceful, somewhere to contemplate the complexities of life I guess.

Sadly, I hadn’t considered the possibility of getting sunburnt in the snow. But oh did I get burnt; my face looked like a tomato wearing white sunglasses ha ha.

The next night after it was my turn to be a dish washer, we were rewarded with a shot of Stroh 80. Wow! That’s lethal! Your whole body reacts to it, I wont ever be doing that again. And well it was back to the bar for a few quiet ones, which, as usual, didn’t happen. Not sure whether it was the Stroh, the altitude, the sunburn, the numerous strawpedos, or a mixture of the lot but I gopt so wasted I passed out on the ground in front of the pub, and had to be woken up and taken to bed. So much for a quiet one.



Keywords for Switzerland:

Victa, the grass cutter

Tom’s waterfall experience

Beer & Jack (Knuckles)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb