Laughed Until We Cried


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
May 25th 2009
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It may not come as a shock to anyone that I laughed until I cried today. However, I don't remember the last time that it happened about seven times in one day, not to only just me, but everyone who I was with.
Our first activity of the day was traveling to Interlaken, a city nearly two hours away from Engelberg. Lucky for us, we had two busses, so there were no disturbances like the ones yesterday.
The Victorian Jungfrau is a 5 star hotel located in this city. Gracious, it was immaculate! With rooms starting at 690 franks per night, it has the potential to go up to 5,000 franks/ night. Mere pocket change, of course... After about an hour of a tour throughout the hotel (in my most uncomfortable shoes that I own!) we were served lunch. From the three restaurants there, we ate at the Italian one, and just for kicks I will say that it was wonderful but I assume that is implied. 😊 Yum! We were seated, all of the silverware and plates were set up the same as in American style dining, however, the cup is placed up-side-down until ones self turns it over or the wait-staff turns it over right before filling it. I thought that was clever. The menu was presented, and they do it a little differently here. The first course was a traditional Italian salad bar, and then there were two choices for a main course. As standard, once someone is done with their appetizer, all utensils and plates are removed from the table, only leaving behind what will be left in the upcoming courses. All of us but two got the same main course. I personally was sold when the waiter told us that in the prong course, all of the garlic was grown in their very own garden. I really like the way that they bus tables. Rather than taking three plates, going to the kitchen, and returning, only to repeat a number of times, another waiter comes out with a really big tray and stands off to the side so that the one bussing can just walk over and set the plates there, making clean up a much quicker process. When they serve, a platter is brought out from the kitchen, plates already fully prepared, and then they are placed in-front of the guests, from the right]/i]. In the U.S. we serve from the left (for those that do not know that). Then they start with the process over again; cleaning every plate and every utensil. They do not bring out desert utensils until it is near time for desert, which I really liked actually. I was extremely impressed with their knowledge of their food, and their level of service. They were very polite and pleasant. I did think it was strange that they only fill the glasses half full... but the water had ice in it so I was not about to complain!! Oh how I have missed my ice!
We then traveled to Vitznau where the DCT school of Hospitality and Business Management was located. We were introduced to the Zero star hotel concept. This concept basically strips all of the glitz and glam of hotel service away and only offers lifes necessities, plus great service. They want to revive the concept of people serving people, and avoid the personal relationships being lost in every sauna and room-service plan. It is interesting, and definately makes sense for the travelors that don't have a lot of money but do want to visit somewhere. It runs from 25-35 franks/ night and offers coffee, and soon to have a heater.
Also, at DCT, we listened to some of their students give presentations about what students really want, and the GDP relation to tourism. The students at this school were definitely different than us. They were different than the students that I am use to working with, but I don't know how to pin-point it quite. They seemed to be very intelligent, (some more intelligent than we could handle), and others were just very knowledgeable.

Well that is it for today. I was hit by the exhaustion bus this afternoon. :P


Advertisement



Tot: 0.338s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb