Geneva - place of leisure!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
July 31st 2006
Published: August 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Perfect Switzerland!Perfect Switzerland!Perfect Switzerland!

Geneva viewed from the plane window
As the plane drew into Geneva, I looked out the window in amazement - everything was PERFECT!!!

Well, what a shock I got on my arrival! Compared to vibrant, lively Spain, it was very grey and the people were all dressed in a similar fashion, with none of the bright colours I was used to.
I was also reminded of the Swiss mentality when I went to the landlady of Gabi's apartment to get some tokens to use for the washing machine - she told me 'ah, but you can't do a wash today'. In reply to my 'why not?', the simple explanation - 'it's SUNDAY'!!!!!!

After a few days though I was right back into life here, catching up with friends and old work colleagues, climbing, hiking, swimming in the lake and generally having a holiday from travelling! See the photos below!


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

21 July birthday drinks21 July birthday drinks
21 July birthday drinks

Everyone looking sleepy after PALEO festival and summer partying!
Other birthday drinks...Other birthday drinks...
Other birthday drinks...

Tequila man!!! With the wall of reformation in the background..
Rockclimbing!Rockclimbing!
Rockclimbing!

The first climb in ages - in neighbouring France
BBQ at the VillardsBBQ at the Villards
BBQ at the Villards

Marie Claire, Frederic and the extended family in Archamps, also in neighbouring France (the family I stayed with when I first came to Geneva)
Le Tour Glacier, ChamonixLe Tour Glacier, Chamonix
Le Tour Glacier, Chamonix

Beautiful Switzerland - a day walk with Audrey
Chamonix climbing gymChamonix climbing gym
Chamonix climbing gym

Where I used to climb - we popped in to have a look on the way back!
View from Audrey's houseView from Audrey's house
View from Audrey's house

A night at Audrey's in neighbouring France - as good as a holiday!
AnnecyAnnecy
Annecy

Lunch the next day with Audrey's Aunt overlooking Lake Annecy
AnnecyAnnecy
Annecy

Look who joined us for lunch!!
Lake AnnecyLake Annecy
Lake Annecy

We hired a pedalo and went out on the lake
Lake AnnecyLake Annecy
Lake Annecy

We hired a pedalo and went out on the lake
My old apartment in GenevaMy old apartment in Geneva
My old apartment in Geneva

The door code is the same so I managed to sneak in and see the renovations... wow!


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb