Geneva- dancing in the Street


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
July 19th 2006
Published: July 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Geneva, Switzerland was amazing!! I went to see the rose gardens, and found SO MUCH MORE! SO when I got into town I stumbled into the tourism office to get a map and find out where the spots on my aganda were. - The Parc de La Grange (home of the rose garden), the Jet de L'eau (big water spout), and the UN. The women gave me the map, and advised that I started at the bottom of this area as a parade would be coming through later and it would be very crowded and loud...in a tone that I would dispise such a thing. Out of curiousity I queried.."What type of parade" She replied, "our annual lake parade where you know, techno DJ's play on floats...." and as she saw my eyes light up- she told me where it started and when.... so I followed her advice had a nice walk through the roses, did the tourist thing, went to the UN and got pics, ate lunch at Mcdonalds (and a big mac there is a Cheeseburger Royale, FYI) So when 3:30 came around I went to the area where the parade began. Families were gathering, people of all ages, nationalities, etc. It was very interesting as I sat anticipating what was to come. By 4:00 PM the parade had made it around to the spot where I was sitting. People were dancing in the street behind each float. The people dancing on the float all had themed costumes, and it was very interesting...after about 15 minutes, I got the bright idea to dance in the street with everyone...and I mean everyone- men with angel wings, drag queens with shoes that I would only dream of, and mothers with children. Quite a good afternoon. (if anyone cares I'll post pics later of roses.)


ohh yeah- PS. I'm home safe. It was a good trip, and the return was uneventful with the exception of the confusion of the RER and the metro in Paris while carrying over 100 pounds in luggage....but hey. To those of you who read my blog, I hope you enjoyed it and thank you for the opportunity for me to share my travel experience with you. I LOVE THE INTERNET!

Advertisement



19th July 2006

YAY for home!
Dude... you should come to Atl...and we shoudl go to six flags!
19th July 2006

indeed
It was a very lovely blog, and I thank you for the info. Glad you had a great time!
20th July 2006

Welcome Back
Welcome home kiddo. Glad you have returned safely. I have loved reading your Blog entires and wish they wouldn't stop. Maybe you could set up a distribution list and send out a newsy kind of email from time to time to your distant friends and Aunties? I love you dear. Welcome home. Auntie C
24th July 2006

YAY!
I'm so glad that you had a good time, and that you're home safe. I come home in about a week and a half and have list a mile long of stuff i still have yet to do...and a present for you!!! hope all is well, and I have enjoyed your blog...keep reading mine!!
30th July 2006

welcome home
see I have read your blog...better late than never...you have been missed and I cant wait to see you when you come down avec ton poisson

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb