Back in Geneva


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
June 1st 2006
Published: June 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

AnnecyAnnecyAnnecy

View from a bridge at Annecy, a French town near Geneva.
When Pam and I returned from our trip, I had three days left in Geneva. We made the most of it, visiting the quaint French town of Annecy that Becky had also taken my mom to, touring the Castle de Chillon on the other side of Lake Geneva, and on my last full day, taking a boat cruise on Lake Geneva. Of course, I did all these things while sick. I caught something at the end of our backpacking trip and was nauseous for days. It might have been food poisoning, I don't know, but it was a big pain because I'd be exhausted after a few hours. Thankfully, after our excursions I could crawl back into Becky's car and sleep on the way home (no trains thank god).

It was hard leaving Geneva because I, as always, had fun hanging out with my family and I enjoyed the lifestyle of walking a lot, buying fresh produce from the farmer's market, then rewarding your healthy living by eating lots of Swiss chocolate!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Chateau de ChillonChateau de Chillon
Chateau de Chillon

A medieval castle on Lake Geneva.
Chateau de ChillonChateau de Chillon
Chateau de Chillon

The boys looking out at Lake Geneva through a castle window. Don't they look angelic from this viewpoint!
Chateau de ChillonChateau de Chillon
Chateau de Chillon

Pam appears to be a giant in the frame of this small door.
His Royal HighnessHis Royal Highness
His Royal Highness

Brett in a chair in the castle, which reminded me of the kid on Sesame Street who sat in the big chair with his feet dangling over the side.
Chateau de ChillonChateau de Chillon
Chateau de Chillon

Me in the castle courtyard. This photo was taken by Chad.
Chateau de ChillonChateau de Chillon
Chateau de Chillon

Chad in the courtyard.
Chateau de ChillonChateau de Chillon
Chateau de Chillon

View from the castle.
Chateau de ChillonChateau de Chillon
Chateau de Chillon

The Alps in the distance.
The Jet d'eauThe Jet d'eau
The Jet d'eau

The fountain, at 140 meters high, is one of the symbols of Geneva.
The Jet d'eauThe Jet d'eau
The Jet d'eau

No, it isn't raining. It was a windy day so that's the spray from the fountain.
The sistersThe sisters
The sisters

On the boat cruise of Lake Geneva, with the Jet d'eau in the background.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb