What to do on a 3 hour layover?


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
January 7th 2006
Published: January 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

SightseeingSightseeingSightseeing

Stopover in Geneve.
So... my next train doesn't come in for not another 3 hours. It was early afternoon and I didn't have anything planned for this. I figured I hang out at the train station at some coffee/pub place, but it was pretty packed and noisy. I tried the people watching idea, but I could never get used to it. I also feel that the person I'm watching sees me and think I'm some perv or crazy even. I had a cup of cappuccino and relaxed, but after that... I just thought, what the hell...

I started wondering off and see what I can find. I found the Jet d'Eau, but it wasn't on due to the overcast and cold weather. Admired the architecture around the lake, a Russian church, and eventually found a free entrance museum. Of course I had to check in my bag and snowboard of which the Swiss guards and museum employees were laughing at the design on my board, not knowing a single word of what they were saying. Then later, came to realize that the character on my board has the red cross symbol just like the Swiss flag. LOL!

Wandering around the museum definitely killed time, in which I had to run back to the station! Hoping I remembered how to get back there!...


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

SightseeingSightseeing
Sightseeing

Old building...
SightseeingSightseeing
Sightseeing

Russian church
SightseeingSightseeing
Sightseeing

Art work near museum...
SightseeingSightseeing
Sightseeing

The free entrance museum... If anyone can tell me the name of this museum, I will greatly appreciate it! :)


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb