Geneva - WOW!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
April 4th 2009
Published: April 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

GenevaGenevaGeneva

This is a view of the city and the lake with the water jet. Looking in this direction, to my left and right are mountains.
This morning I got up at 3:30 AM so I could get myself checked out and get myself to the subway, so I could get myself to the above ground train, so I could get myself to the airport, so I could get myself to Geneva, Switzerland. Needless to say, I'm pretty tired. But I just couldn't sleep after checking into my new hotel, because this city looks SO awesome. I took about 200 photos of Geneva alone, so I obviously can't put them all on here. But basically the city has a beautiful waterfront (with a water jet that shoots 500 litres of water per second, 140 meters in the air), is surrounded by mountains, and has nice clean old buildings and parks. Accept for the water jet and the old buildings, Geneva actually reminds me a lot of Vancouver.
I haven't decided which photos I'm going to include but definitely the jet, the flower clock (which is another important thing about Geneva since every 2nd store here is a clock or watch store), the panoramic views from the tower of a really old cathedral and then whatever else I can squeeze in.
I wish I was staying here for
Alps from planeAlps from planeAlps from plane

coming in just after the sun came up made for a nice view of the alps.
more than just 1 day. Now that my main sightseeing is done, I'm going to rest then get dinner in awhile, and I'm thinking of visiting one of the many night clubs here if I have any energy left. They are open until 5am...so that's definitely something in contrast to Vancouver where they seem to close at 1am (2am if you're lucky and 3am at the VERY latest on occasion).
Anyway, enjoy the photos and I'll let you know if anything interesting happens tonight. Otherwise, its off to Grenoble tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Flower clockFlower clock
Flower clock

here I am in front of the flower clock.
A close-up of the flowersA close-up of the flowers
A close-up of the flowers

This one's for you mom.
Flower clock againFlower clock again
Flower clock again

just from a different angle.
Another close-up viewAnother close-up view
Another close-up view

Nice depth of field thanks to my macro setting.
Merry-go-roundMerry-go-round
Merry-go-round

I was surprised to see a Merry-go-round right in the middle of the town. Cool!
CathedralCathedral
Cathedral

In the back you see the tower of the cathedral where I took the panoramic shot from.
CobblestonesCobblestones
Cobblestones

All the old part of town has cobble stone streets. I really liked using my macro lens today.
CathedralCathedral
Cathedral

This was the front of the cathedral, the tower is off behind it to the right (out of the view).
Inside the CathedralInside the Cathedral
Inside the Cathedral

I took a lot of pictures inside, but I'll just show 1 for now.
A different directionA different direction
A different direction

You already saw the panorama, well this is just a different direction, facing the mountains in the distance.
Merry-go-round from atopMerry-go-round from atop
Merry-go-round from atop

Here you can see the Merry-go-round again, plus the water jet, so it gives you an idea of where I walked around.
Height of the jetHeight of the jet
Height of the jet

This should give an idea of how high the water jet is. I'm looking straight out from the tower and its going higher than me. Plus compare to those boats that look so tiny.
Concert hallConcert hall
Concert hall

Another water fountain out front, but this one is much smaller. :)
RiversRivers
Rivers

The lake branches off into some man-made rivers that flow through the city like this. Reminds me a TINY bit of Amsterdam, only about 1% of the bridges they have there.


Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb