The Party of Epic Destruction etc. etc.


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
November 26th 2007
Published: January 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

United Nations HQUnited Nations HQUnited Nations HQ

As Far As We Got ... SHUT :(
23-11-07

After much farting around (my flight left Heathrow at 11am, I woke up with a hangover at my mates Ben's house in Brighton) I did finally make it to Heathrow and got on my flight. I landed at Geneva at about 8pm and met my mate Lee in the airport where we waited for one of Lee's other mates to arrive, during the mean time we drank lots of miniatures, When he arrived, we jumped onto the train into central Geneva. We put our bags into the lockers at the train station and then the drinking commenced

The first bar was called Pickwick, an Irish bar that had live blues music playing but before we got there we got some food - a faflel in pitta from a kebab shop along the way; I wasn’t going to eat anything but he was a very good salesperson and in my professional option wasted there. After Pickwick we moved onto another bar via the same kebab house for seconds - another faflel in pitta and a picture taken behind the counter with the kebab cutting tools.

The name of the second bar escapes me but we met everybody in there; Debbie (Lee's friend who lives in Geneva) and JB and Elenor (JB is Debbie's brother and Eleanor is his girlfriend). More beers and vodka shots were consumed and Lee was talking about the creation process of black holes; which would go way over my head normally but tonight way way over!

We all moved onto a club called Shakers and Debbie being the party person, got us all into the club for free and ahead of the queuing public. Everybody started drinking dark blue cocktails called Black Rain as recommended by Debbie; these happened to be the strongest and sweetest cocktails that they did. Did i happen to mention that they were also the most expensive at 25 CHF.

Debbie made the mistake of challenging me to drink another one, I ran out of money so Debbie offered to buy it for me - after that I have a sneaking feeling I didn’t last too long! Though i cant be too sure!

I woke up at Debbie's on the sofa; fully dressed with my bag on the floor. Lee told me that I was snoring (which I don’t!) and he had to throw a sock at me to get me to stop. I only have the vague memory of wondering out of the club, I think i was looking for a cash machine and talking to some random who were smoking some weed and then getting lost trying to find the club again.

The day was kind of quite; left late in the afternoon to go and find somewhere that sold food; fondue to be specific. We found somebody and I take it that they weren’t particularly happy with us as we ordered food just before they were closing ... technically they were still open! And PS I DONT LIKE FONDU!

We went to try and find the UN HQ as I wanted to go and do something touristy - after much getting lost and wondering around we found it, we found it was shut! Not happy. We got onto a bus down to the old town where we got 4 o'clock coffee and cake; a Lee tradition, we just chilled out with our coffee and cake and then after these had been consumed we made our way back to Debbie's to pick up our bags and got a taxi to Lee's house in France

St. Genin, France 24 - 11- 07

We crossed the boarder into France and passed by the CERN facility which stretches for miles; this is well Lee creates black holes and shit like that! When we arrived the first thing we did was to grab a beer and chill before people arrived! I can’t remember details of the house party but it consists of beers, shots of rum, vodka, tequila, Sambuca and whiskey! Apparently, Kate (she lives downstairs below Lee) tried to get me to do yoga and something about an acoustic guitar ...

25- 11 - 07

I woke up without a hangover which was cool. Me and Lee went to the store to buy some breakfast supplies, we came back and the others who had stayed, had started to tidy the flat and then it hit me - WHAM! My hangover started - I had got up and still been drunk. Apparently, I was making all kind of horrid moaning noises all morning

Everybody else flew back to England at some point on Sunday; me and Lee, that evening stayed away from booze, watched some Bill Bailey and 300 ... eventually I fell asleep and then woke up. Lee put me on the bus back to Geneva and back to the airport!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0995s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb