Well, I got here


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
September 1st 2007
Published: September 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

That was supposed to have an exclamation point, but I don't want to spend five days trying to find it. And if I spell a word with a z that normally has a y, its because their positions are opposite on the kezboards here. See?

I was extremely frustrated yesterday, as I missed my connecting flight in Frankfurt. I went to the assigned gate, and gave my ticket to the lady at the counter. She looks at the ticket, looks at me, looks at the ticket again, and says: Geneva! It's gone! (Image it in a German accent; I dare you not to laugh.)(Oh, and I found the !) After taking a moment to wonder if she meant the city or the plane bound for it, I went upstairs two floors to the tranfer desk. Such precise directions!

Ok, not so precise. I waited in the long line for about 45 minutes, but I did meet Tess, the lovely young lady pictured with the Drew Carey look-alike above (her opinion, but true in this case, I think). She missed her flight the evening before, and spent the previous 24 hours in the airport. Tess had a hilarious story about her thighs being groped by a stern German woman. Of course, the woman was security, so maybe it isn't so odd afterall.

Geneva is a quaint city (props to Erin for the word choice). I've attached some random pictures. I'm still a little uneasy about the job thing (as in, not having one), but I don't regret being here.

The spellchecker here is in French (I can't imagine whz), so mz spelling is probablz attrocious. And I obviouslz gave up on the z·y thing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

MeMe
Me

Wha???


3rd September 2007

Wonderful Pictures
Fred Even though you missed your connector it sounds like you ran into some neat people. Tess sounds great even if she thought you were a Drew Carey look a like! We miss you!!!
4th September 2007

Congratulations
Congratulations, it looks like you are out of retirement.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb