Svizzera!!!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-East » St Moritz
November 6th 2009
Published: November 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm very sorry it has taken me so long to write about last weekends trip to Switzerland. I had a really good start all typed out and when I went to save it I lost all of it. This was very discouraging and is my lame excuse for the delay. With that said, here is the much procrastinated entry:

Sunday morning I awoke to bright Swiss light pouring in horizontally from an antique window. I slipped out of the warm burrow beneath my two huge comforters and skipped over to gaze out at a truly breath-taking landscape of snow-capped mountains preceded by vividly yellow and green foothills. I am happy to report that I took a large number of pictures documenting my weekend, and very sad to say I forgot my camera cord a quarter of the way around the world. I will be receiving it sometime in the next month or two thanks to my amazing mother and will post all camera contents a.s.a.p. Anyways, back in Switzerland, my jolly mood and I had a typical Italian breakfast of hot milk, bread with nutella or jam, and some amazing coffee. The family then bundled up and headed out, tramping through town to reach the trail that would take us to a beautiful little lake nestled in the foothills of the alps. This delightful place was where we met up with our delightful vacation companions, the Guerras. If that name sounds familiar, it is probably because Giulia Guerra is my closest friend here and I'm sure I have mentioned her in past blogs. After playing with the sheets of ice that rimmed the lake like it was my first time anywhere that got below 32 degrees at night, we began a hike that would take us almost to the foot of a Glacier, but not before many hours of walking through enchanting forests and along icy rivers. At one point we stopped and, with the help of some bread crumbs, let little birds come to sit on our outstretched fingers. It was a fantastic day and when we left the next day, it snowed hard enough to turn the landscape into a classic winter wonderland, I couldn't have asked for more.

Advertisement



9th November 2009

winter wonderland
I'm so glad you continue to be jolly and amazed by your adventures abroad. And I love reading about them. Your description of looking out the window was exactly the experience I had when I took my first trip alone, at age 25, a road trip through New England to see the fall colors, and I woke in a quaint B&B and slipped out from beneath a fluffy down comforter and tip toed to the window to see the first snow falling on gorgeous fall colors. Thank you for bringing that memory back. It was one of those magic moments, you know what I mean. Could send me your snail mail address so I can send you a xmas card? I probably should get it in the mail soon. And do you ever go shopping in Italy. I would love a description of any store excursions, food, shoes, clothes, anything. Can't you buy a camera cord in Italy? xxoo Patti
13th November 2009

That is a nice thing about Europe, isn't it, all those countries just a hop and a skip away. Hope you get to do more traveling before too long. Can't wait to see the photos.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb