Beyond Interlaken


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Gimmelwald
August 17th 2007
Published: August 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My honeymoon with the Interlaken youth hostel came to a quick end last night. After I made my blog entry (if it wasn't obvious, I was kinda hosed at the time ...) when a bunch of frat boys and their girlfriends stormed into my dorm room early in the morning and blabbed for another hour.

Moved on from Interlaken to Gimmelwald, which was the plan all along and was a good move. Gimmelwald is a mountain "village" of about 150 people at about 4,000' in the Alps. What I said yesterday about Western Washington comparing to the Alps .... I was wrong. Its not even close. The amount of vertical relief here is beyond compare. The village obviously relies on tourism, but its not anywhere near as gaudy as Interlaken, although the prices of everything just skyrocketed. No offerings of canyoneering, skzdiving, rafting, paragliding, zorbing, etc. here, just hiking and mountain biking. Its totally my kind of scene. Very laid back. So, I think I'm going to cut short my planned stays in other cities on my itinerary so that I can spend more time here. In fact, I may not come back. I figure I can raise goats and sell cheese for living expenses. For spending cash, I can put my law degree to use and sue tourists who take pictures of my goats without permission.

Today is my birthday so I decided to treat myself by doing laundry. Some of my long-time trekking clothes have now attained "permafunk" status - no matter how times I wash them, they still stink.


Advertisement



17th August 2007

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!
Happy Birthday Doug, I knew you'd love it at higher altitudes! If you can swing it, another thing I'd highly recommend is the train up to Jungfraujoch - so incredibly beautiful (but touristy). You can hike from the lookout up to another small building to have a yummy hot bowl of soup at the highest point in Europe. Can't wait to see all your photos!!
18th August 2007

Another Happy Birthday!
Happy birthday!! I think that Libby was trying to tell you that the Jung Fraus are good. :) Rock off!
18th August 2007

Happy Birthday! Sounds like you picked the ideal spot to celebrate. Hard to top doing laundry as a birthday activity :)
23rd August 2007

Happy Birthday!
Loving these blog entries.... thanks so much for sharing your adventures. And yeah, I can think of much worse things to do with a law degree :):):)
25th August 2007

Alles Gute zum Geburtstag
Grüße mein Freund! I don't know Swiss, but I bet they speak German too! Happy Birthday! I like your idea - I hope to be in Italy a year from now for my next birthday, so I hope you can give us ideas! Travel safe!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb