Appenzell, Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Appenzell
September 18th 2013
Published: September 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Beautiful farm landBeautiful farm landBeautiful farm land

This is dairy cattle territory in the lower Alps. The pastures were bright green and the low clouds gave it a great look.
Appenzell had some big clouds hanging about 100 feet over my head, and it was raining. I wished it wasn't raining, but it was my last day, so I made the best of it. You know how you sometimes feel like you're walking around with your head in the clouds? I really was. My little hotel was in a convenient location, so I walked a few blocks into town. Many of the buildings had the traditional painting on them, and most have shutters. This area of Switzerland is so close to Germany, so the style of architecture is very similar to what I saw in Bavaria. Many of the businesses have an ornate metal insignia that hangs perpendicular to their entrance door. It depicts the store's type of business. This comes from long ago when many people couldn't read. I wandered around town and enjoyed the lack of commotion and tourists. There are several churches, but one big Catholic church seemed to be the center of everything. There was a large cemetery behind it, and it was quite different than any I had seen before. I wandered around in the rain and clouds checking out the names and styles. I don't know how they are buried, because the plot is very small, and there are rock walkways in between the rows. I wondered if they were cremated and buried the urns, but I seem to remember that Catholics don't cremate. Well, I don't know how they stuff them in such a small spot, but it's another example of the efficiency for which the Swiss are famous! Each plot had flowers growing on it and there was a variety of small headstones. I felt like it was a happy place instead of sad, because the flowers were bright colors and the plots were immaculately groomed. I have a habit of delaying souvenir purchases and then going into panic mode on the last day. Well, it was the last day. These Swiss know how to live; about half of the stores were closed again today. However, I was able to finish my shopping, and I found the traditional Swiss cow bell that I've been wanting. Don't ask...I really don't know the answer. I thought I would have Swiss fondue for lunch, but I found you can't really get it for one person because it's a whole pot of stuff. I settled for a
Painted HousesPainted HousesPainted Houses

Many of the houses and businesses are painted with scenes of farm life in the Alps.
restaurant that looked good and wasn't going to cost me $50 for lunch. Everyone in the restaurant appeared to be over 70 and from central Illinois. Lo and behold, the couple next to me really was from central Illinois! They were from LaSalle-Peru and thought it was just amazing that they would come across a “neighbor”! I took their advice and ordered the special which was a pork chop with pasta and thin-sliced zuccini with a salty gravy over the pork chop. It also included a small salad and a bowl of thin vegetable soup. It was good, but very reminiscent of the last week of meals. I will be ready for something else when I get back to Florida. The rain just wouldn't quit, so I returned to the hotel where my suitcase was waiting. It was time to hop my last train and head to Zurich. I had booked an airbnb.com room with a retired woman in Zurich. She had sent me directions to take tram 14 to a certain stop, get off, wait for tram 9, then get off at a certain stop, cross the street, and there's her apartment. When I arrived at the Zurich train station I had to figure out where to catch the tram, and that included walking two blocks in the rain, dragging my wet suitcase. A tram is a reticulated street car, and they run in both directions, so did I need the tram 14 toward Heerenstrasse or tram 14 toward Seebach? I finally figured it out, and maneuvered through the system to find her place. Success! She was the funniest, nicest lady! Her English was pretty good, and she had learned it in the past few years of hosting English speaking bnb guests. I was impressed. She also had a guest from Malaysia. It was kind of like having a multi-national slumber party! She told me that she has a 30-yr old daughter who she had raised alone, and she shared the whole story. It's such a good story, that I feel compelled to share it. Insert my laughter wherever you want, because she was so funny! She had been married to her husband for 17 years. They had wanted a child, but it just never happened. He told her he needed an offspring, so he was divorcing her since she was unable to get pregnant. She was working and able to make it on her own. Two months after their divorce, she flew to Munich for a weekend shopping trip, met a man on the plane, had a one-night stand, and returned to Zurich pregnant! Her ex-husband never did have a child, because he was apparently the problem with conception! She was 39 years old and pregnant for the first and only time. She was thrilled and managed to handle the entire situation herself. When her ex saw her a couple of years later with a toddler, he asked her if she was doing childcare work, and she was able to laugh in his face and explain that this was her daughter. Isn't that the best!? Her daughter is now 30 and working on a doctorate degree. She stays very busy renting out her room through airbnb. Most of her guests are European and Asian, but she has had people from the Americas, also, Her place is nothing special, but she makes it so much fun that many of her guests come back again and again. It was a great ending to my stay in Europe.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb