Lidköping


Advertisement
Published: July 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Got just a few hours sleep despite earplugs - it was as if they raised the volume even compared to Monday night. So instead of lying in bed tossing and turning and getting more and more pissed off, I wrote an email to the hotel explaining that I hadn't slept properly both nights and expected compensation. And when I went down to talk to them in reception in the morning, I discovered they had decided not to charge me for both nights. As one friend put it: vindication. And a nice chunk of money to put towards the rest of my travels. Tired but satisfied.

It was clear that I wasn't going hiking, but what to do with my final day in the Lidköping area? I opted to take it easy in town, first trying to sleep a little at the hotel in the morning (unsuccessful, overtired) and then going on the hunt for culture. I found a delightful exhibition at the town art gallery by an artist from Skövde depicting elderly women in various unusual roles, including a few punks (https://lidkoping.se/evenemang/moa-anderson-var-basta-tid-ar-nu/). Saw my future flash before me.

A short walk away was Vänermuseet, with its thought-provoking exhibitions. Particularly enjoyed the one about our relationship with time, appealed to my philosophical side. And the ever-present kiddie in me loved its hands-on approach (if I see a button, I *will* push it). So I spent a fun hour or so messing around in there. Big fan of well-designed museums.

A quick "fika" (not strictly coffee and cake - chocolate ball and a Trocadero) and then onto Rörstrand. The porcelain manufacturer has of course succumbed to globalisation like most other Swedish industries (production has been moved to places like China and Bangladesh). but there are still offices in Lidköping and a museum featuring items from all periods of their history. There was also an exhibition about their top designer Gunnar Nylund, with examples of his work. I was a bit nervous when a young boy started fiddling with some of the plates and naturally the alarm went off, but I don't think he broke anything.

Perfectly acceptable vegan burger at Bakgårn (again, I'm impressed) and then back to the handicrafts area where there were some elderly gentlemen mangling rock 'n roll hits in dodgy English. That and the huge American "raggarbilar" cars that cruise the town give Lidköping its Swedish smalltown credentials. Tomorrow, another small Swedish town beginning with L.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb