back on the rails


Advertisement
Published: July 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Scandinavian summer 2017


Speeding along through the countryside of northern Skåne towards Gothenburg and ultimately Lidköping. My aim for the summer - and the future - is to fly as little as possible. So I'm back on the rails, or back on track, or whichever cheesy train-based metaphor you wish to use. I love trains and train travel but after several years of failed journeys between Stockholm and Malmö (and by failed I mean seriously lengthy delays), I'd kind of given up on the choo-choo. But I'm finding my excessive flying habit increasingly hard to justify, so I will be weaning myself off it. I only really travel within Europe anyhow and the job I have makes not flying a real possibility.



So this is my challenge to myself, to get creative and find alternatives. I have one flight scheduled this summer but after that, I'm planning to travel on boats and trains and buses and trams and whatever else we used to travel on before we invented those wonderful but environmentally devastating flying machines. It will be limiting and it will cost more but as we will all eventually be forced to revive this former lifestyle, I want to get used to it sooner rather than later. And even if I don't succeed 100%, at least questioning the need for every flight I'm considering will mean that this issue stays in my consciousness. I don't want to assume some kind of moral high ground here, I've flown loads over the years, I just simply want to raise my own awareness and if that makes others think twice about flying, then that's good enough for me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb