Umea a year begins


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Västerbotten County » Umeå
August 21st 2008
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Arrival



Here it is Umea. I got here in the morning at 5:30 and it was a foggy cold greeting my future residence gave me. I will stay here for a year and I was quite tired after a nine-hour ride on the nightbus from Stockholm .But still - the warm prickling feeling of a new place was keeping my spirits up and me going.

My college and me had some time to kill on the new campus until the housing office was open. We sat around under a bridge and gave a quite sad picture, but at least it was dry there.

Shortly after seven we started for our new homes and guess what... it started raining. So we crep under the next cover. 😊 It didnt last long so we had been at our places not more than a half hour later and I forgot my house and room number .... until I got reminded that I just singed the contract.

I found my house my floor and my room and its different from what I thought. But I like it. The bathroom is a matter of effectiveness. The walls are plastic and I the shower is just parted from the rest by a plastic courtain. I will make a picture as soon as possible.

I threw my cloth into the big wardrobe and took a look around the kitchen. Its still kind of messy but I guess thats just people moving out ... well some kind of out at least - it looks like they left some unwanted things so I have to figure out what's belonging to anyone.

I needed some things to live on so I planned to go for some supermarket. Someone told us that the one close by is quite expensive so we walked to the one a little further away. It wound not have been so bad if not for the dripping rain. But we walked and walked and finally found the place. We bought lots of stuff and forgot even more so we need to go the next day again. But well I plan not to go but rather to get a bike and ride the whole way. It takes a 25 minutes walk and there should be a second hand place back there.

Now I tired but Thomas will come over and we will drink a "Einstands" rum, probably alone since noone else is here yet.

The first day



So that was the first night. I have been washing some clothe and a blanket I found here yesterday so I have something to sleep with and some clean cloth. But It wasn't dry enough so I needed to use my sleeping back once more. The bed sheet at least was ready for use. I got up a early today just to hang around my place, shower, eat breakfast and hang around in the internet. I must say that I am quite lazy but I got moving and back to the supermarket. I needed a desktop lamp and some other things among them the bike. We got to the second hand market and guess what. It was closed irregularly on this Friday and it will open again on Monday. We bought lots of other stuff and went back to our rooms with the plan to meet up later. But before I could place my groceries into the fridge which I needed to clean first. 😊 It took quite some time but it was the typical floor fridge in student housings.

After that we went to the city and got ourselves to the next second hand shop. We were to late. they closed a half an hour before. Its quite annoying to see all those people to drive around you while you try to get one the whole day. Umeå really is a city with a lot of bikes. We got some beer and moved back to my place to cook and to get settled.

ah and I got a red tea pot with lovely white dots on it. It looks funny. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb