FINALLY England-bound


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Östergötland County » Linköping
October 22nd 2010
Published: October 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

So once again I have certainly been neglecting my blog. I guess it's kind of a good thing because I've been so busy living I haven't had much of a chance to write about it. A few exciting things have happened since my last post.

I had the amazing opportunity to go to Stockholm and see the NHL game opener. It was probably one of the most thrilling moments ever!! The game was the San Jose Sharks vs the Columbus Blue Jackets. I really don't know much about either team but I decided sharks are cooler so I cheered for San Jose, who won of course. Since then I've been live streaming every NHL game I can get my hands on. The only part I don't like so much is the time difference. Games begin at 7pm Eastern time which 1am my time. I'm like some kind of hockey junkie though I can't not watch!

Anyways back to Stockholm- I spent the night there as I'm lucky enough to know someone whose father has an apartment there. I got up bright and early the next day and went off to meet a friend for a full day of shopping.
Top of the rockTop of the rockTop of the rock

Finally made it to the top of a cliff for THE most amazing view!
I knew Sweden was expensive but my goodness Stockholm was outrageous!! Our intention was to buy winter clothes but I cheaped out and my friend spent 1300 krona on a pair of boots. The funny thing is the majority of the boots for winter are this weird "Canada" brand complete with the flag and everything. My friend purposely tried those ones on because she said "If it's Canadian it must be good right?" haha

This brings me to my next thing which is how very good it is to be Canadian in the world. I've been told we are viewed as the conscience of the US. Whatever it is people absolutely LOVE Canadians from what I've experienced. The minute I mention where I'm from I have instant friends wherever I am. Coming here I didn't really know how people felt about Canada so it really is nice to see people have such a friendly opinion of us. Also funny to mention is the fact that everytime I tell someone I'm from Canada inevitably each and every person has met 'Jen' or 'Lisa' or 'Steve' from Canada and have very fond memories of their time together. Haha guess the beer
fika at the top of the clifffika at the top of the clifffika at the top of the cliff

Sina and I enjoying fika.
commercials are true!

So the same weekend I shopped and went to the NHL game in Stockholm I also went hiking with a Swedish friend family. Although I was not lucky enough to receive my own friend family, my friend Sina was paired with one and mentioned to them that I had none. They extended an invitation to me so that I may be included in the experience so we spent the day hiking and touring around (I went on my first car ferry) and even had fika at the top of a cliff! It was just unbelievable. This Sunday I'll be having dinner with them at their home. It will be interesting to see how the customs regarding something like having dinner at someone's home are the same or different here as they are in Canada.

Annddd one last thing I have coming up that is rather life changing for me. I AM FINALLY GOING TO ENGLAND!!! I fly out on October 28th and shall return November 2. As far as I know I will be visiting London for some shopping, and going to a football match and hockey game and perhaps a pub or two. I have wanted to visit England for such a long time words can't even describe how elated I am. Of course more posts and pictures to come about that when I return!

New Swedish word of the day: Frukost = breakfast


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb