Try Explaining Bagged Milk


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Östergötland County » Linköping
September 14th 2010
Published: September 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello All!!

So I've been really incredibly lame updating this blog lately. I even had to read over the last entry to even remember what I haven't written about yet...poor neglected travel blog.

Well I guess since then I experienced the joys of a student bar/pub. It was great! A few of us hung out on the patio and drank the cheapest thing they had to offer- vodka and redbull. Although cheap and wonderful I won't think I slept at all that night. I'm starting to really enjoy the black licorice shots (called something in the area of Turkish Pepper) and mintu alcohol. Not that all I'm doing is getting drunk but they certainly make it taste better than we do in Canada.

After the bar we went over to a concert offered free by the university for new students. I had zero idea what to expect and I'm kind of glad because I don't think anything could have prepared me. The band was called the Teddybears and they were all dressed in suits with giant teddy bear heads on. During the slower songs the eyes turned red...not really sure how I feel about that. Until the red eye thing all I could think was "todays the day the teddy bears have their picccnicccc". Proof that I was an early 90's child I guess. I have to say though, all kidding aside the music was pretty great. I don't think the organizers of this shindig thought it all the way through because they let people in for a dance before the concert let out so that we had to cross the dance floor to leave the building which was a total nightmare save for the fact that we got to dance our way out of there. Only problem is when we tried to go back and collect jackets from coat check it got so crazy they pulled the fire alarm and kicked everyone out. Possibly the most disturbing part of the whole night was watching hundreds of drunk students bike themselves home. It may not be a motor vehicle but on foot, I feared for my life.

One thing I'm pretty proud of is that people are beginning to identify me for the Canadian that I am. I'm all for integrating and blending but damnit I want my Canadian accent. Up to this point everyone thinks I sound American...I just want to be authentic. When we went to the bar that night they laughed because I apparently say "aboot" instead of "about". I don't think I've ever been so proud. Also they were quite fascinated with the fact that Canada has bagged milk. The funnier thing to me was the fact that I never noticed that Sweden doesn't have bagged milk. Try explaining the concept of bagged milk to people who have not just accepted its weirdness for 21 years....strange...

So onto school related things. Not that I want to jinx it but things have been slow starting up. I'll admit it's been difficult to make international friends because I don't have a distinct program at this university and I haven't had that many classes so far. Considering I'll pretty much talk to anyone you'd think this part would be easy but it has proven tricky. Thank goodness for roommates (who I love) and Swedish friends who happen to have found me through this very blog!!! Some of the friends I've made in other programs seem to stick within their program for activities and such so maybe I just need to be adopted. I wonder if I could pass as a social science kid? Hmm maybe. Although don't get me wrong I am LOVING the friends I've already made. They introduce me to things like Swedish whiskey (holy hangover) and thai food (in Sweden- that's upcoming) and markets and candy and pizza salad (i know, weird but yummy) and Swedish swear words (only the good ones). Amazing. I've learned so much.

So now, a parting thought. I've been reading the blog of another woman living in Sweden and getting a laugh out of her take on Swedish men. She says they are shy, sensitive, like foreign girls (i swear her words, not mine), are good listeners, like sharing the house work, and are respectful. I have to say there are certainly exceptions to this like there are to any generalization but damnit I gotta say I concur. Maybe I'm still in the one month dreamland of being excited to be in a new country but from what I've seen I have to wonder if this is some sort of best kept secret or something. Okay they're not like perfect or anything because that would be weird but there is definitely something in the water over here. So ladies....when will you be booking your flights?

Advertisement



15th September 2010

weird
So, first of all, how is it that bagged (or not!) milk EVER comes up in conversation.......?! OH you do not say "aboot"! What is that all ABOUT!!! I still think humour writing is in your future! g
18th September 2010

Yup
I agree- having been to Sweden, the men are interesting in ways we don't really see here in Canada. BUT I also found them to be a bit too passive and shy at times. Have they noticed you saying eh yet? I had fun with that one when I was there. I REALLY miss being in Sweden, I found it to be just the most lovely place and so I'm really looking forward to your posts. It helps to hear your stories- thanks!

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb