Rescue Rangers


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Östergötland County » Linköping
August 23rd 2010
Published: August 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Festival in LinkopingFestival in LinkopingFestival in Linkoping

We stumbled upon this festival while waiting for the bus. Pretty cool!
So I'm pretty sure the people I live with must think I'm absolutely insane! haha Last night Daniel and Uma were in my room helping me set something up on my computer and Uma commented that it was awfully dark in here. When I moved in, Aunt G and I also thought it seemed dark but we thought it was the bulbs and we purchased a lamp. Thank goodness Uma is extremely tall because he informed me that two of my three lightbulbs were actually burnt out. When I asked where to buy new ones Daniel pointed and said to walk "250 meters that way". I gave him a look. Apparently you can buy just about anything at the grocery store just like at home. I'm so pre-programmed to assume everything is different that I sometimes miss the obvious. Erik had extra bulbs and Uma used his superhuman height and together we solved the problem.

Later on in the day I went over to pay my first bill. Apparently you have to pay in cash so I went off in search of a bank machine. It took me forever to find it!! I tried putting my card in and was getting all frustrated because it wasn't working and the words that kept popping up on the screen were in Swedish. I walked back home and knocked on poor Erik's door. These boys should really start learning to run when they see me coming. He was in the middle of some online game thing and had to kill himself to come and help me but I only had an hour left to get it done. We got all the way over there- me in a panic and he turns the card stripe up and it goes right in. There was even a picture on the machine. I was so frazzled by all the Swedish words I failed to notice. Boy did I feel stupid. He even waited for me while I paid my bill and everything! If I learned to slow down and pay attention these silly situations wouldn't keep happening. I'm so ready for everything to be difficult or different that I forget many things are just the same- or at least very obvious. All I can say is, thank goodness for roommates coming to the rescue! My own personal rescue rangers! I'm going to make everyone Canadian pancakes with maple syrup to thank them. Here they have thin crepes with strawberry jam but no fluffy pancakes! The travesty!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

I could get used to this!I could get used to this!
I could get used to this!

This is part of campus believe it or not. So gorgeous!!


23rd August 2010

Your updates
Hey RHianna: I was away for the weekend and just caught up with all of your blogs... Sounds like you are definitely having an adventure, learning how similar and how different life is in Sweden. Love the photos - they give us a sense of where you are ..... I'm glad you've got roommates who are prepared to support your transition :) Look forward to more news. Love...Wendie
23rd August 2010

You are very very funny! Things will get easier (mixed in with these periodic "episodes" I'm sure)! Better bake for them too! lol. g

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb