Photos


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Östergötland County » Linköping
September 19th 2009
Published: September 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

SkogenSkogenSkogen

These are the woods in between the area where I live and the next. These green areas seem to be all over
I have just returned from my first trip to Systembolaget. This is the state run off-license chain that is the only shop allowed to sell alcohol above 3.5% (apart from pubs and restaraunts). It is the only one in the city and closes at 3pm so when I got there at 2pm there was a massive queue outside. ONce I'd got nside and found my conservative 4 cans of Kopperberg and started queing at the till, I had my first meeting with a genuine Swedish alcoholic. He started to tell me how his generation weren't like the youth of today when it came to drinking. By the smell of his breath, he drinks enough for his whole school class. He continued by pointing out to me the irony of the government paying out generous payments to get students through university and then the students giving it straight back via systembolaget. Not sure how true that is but it sounds like a good system to me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

MillfieldMillfield
Millfield

This is the Swedish version of Jersey Park. My photo doesn't do it justice because the zoom is broke but behind this astroturf court is a big skateboard park. It reminded me of an urban Millfield. I think they charge about £60 to plat football on a court like that in Swansea
Campus VallaCampus Valla
Campus Valla

The main University campus but not where I'll be studying. These bike parks are everywhere tho
Singleton ParkSingleton Park
Singleton Park

I don't know the name of this park but as its right next to the hospital, I'm going to call it Singleton
Linkoping PlantasiaLinkoping Plantasia
Linkoping Plantasia

In Singleton Park
Outdoor swimming poolOutdoor swimming pool
Outdoor swimming pool

This area was closed in September. Its joined on to a leisure centre, which I think is run privately so probably costs money to swim.


7th October 2009

Sounds great so far, keep up the blogging
22nd October 2009

Looks good Patty boy

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb