Monday Jan 30th - Friday Feb 3rd


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Norrbotten County » Luleå
February 17th 2012
Published: February 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So basically i spent all this week in bed....getting sick is never fun!

Isabel went out and got me some cough medicine and after plenty of rest I was ok. But there are a few differences between getting sick in the US and getting sick here.

First and foremost....no chicken noodle soup.....i cried. Seriously when I am sick and cold i just want my awesome campels super salty chicken noodle 90cents a can goodness....but not so much here. Actually its hard to find any soup here! Most of it comes in powdered form or has fish in it :-/ Second big problem (as i am sure many of you know) is pharmaceuticals here are quite different. There is no cough syrup, NyQuil, DayQuil, or any sort of decongestant. Instead you can find several forms of ecanacea which hey I love and am all for....but seriously when you cough like me nothing but the strongest cough/decongestant will work.....i was miserable! Also it is standard form here that if you are sick you stay home for 48 hours after you claim to be sick.....so there is no pushing through the day.....you are obligated to stay home. So this is what I did....cough....a lot....drink plenty of water....and pretty much felt like crap for a week. I coughed so much that i had no voice! Ahhh good times...NOT. But at least all the professors were understanding, encouraging me to stay away from class haha.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.116s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb