Sweden Day Three


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Jämtland County » Östersund
June 9th 2007
Published: June 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sweden Day Three



Sweden Day Three
Amanda

Avar’s and Train Back to Stockholm



I’m pretty sure the jet-lag hit. Michelle and I had planned on riding bikes to the train station to buy tickets to go back to Stockholm, but I was dead to the world when she tried to wake me in the morning. When she got there the place was closed, but luckily they had a machine where she could buy the tickets. Mom and Cathy needed tickets but we didn’t because we had our Eurorail passes. Sven-Eric took me to the store to find cardamom, and some sort of salt and something that is used to make thick milk for Mormor. I can't go into detail about what thick milk is, but let me just say that the "good grandaughter" in me wanted to find it, but the "oh, my gosh, how can you eat this?" side was hoping I'd fail. I found the cardamom, and salt with no trouble, but I could not find the thick milk stuff.

We all piled in the cars again and went into town. Elsie took us to this place where they blow glass. It was so hot in the building that the girls blowing glass wore tank tops and flip flops, which didn’t look too safe. The woman was making these colored glass ornaments, which I thought were beautiful. She apparently didn’t like how the one turned out and threw it away. If it wasn’t the beginning of my trip I probably would have purchased something because it was all so amazing and handcrafted. We drove to Avar’s for lunch. I’m not sure of the relation, but I think Avar is the daughter of my Great-Grandma’s brother. Anyway, she used to sell antiques so her house is filled with all these beautiful pots, bowls, glasses and old dolls. Her house was so adorable. It reminded me of the playhouse I had always wanted as a kid. She even had a small play house in the backyard that was so cute I said I’d move in if she would let me. She had all the food for lunch set up in there. I felt like I was at a fancy tea party where I should be eating cucumber sandwiches. Avar likes to drink and some of her behaviors reflect it. I thought she was harmless and old, but Elsie kept being embarrassed by her. The food was amazing. I seriously could eat the salmon dish we had every day of my life. We also had shrimp, pickled cucumbers, gyro dip, raspberry cheesecake and cream. Michelle and I left with Sven-Eric to look in another store for the thick milk stuff. He walked so fast through the store that we could barely keep up with him. We wanted to explain to him that we wanted to do some more shopping but he walked so fast that we just decided to leave. After we got home, Michelle and I rode the bikes back to the store and got stuff to make sandwiches for the train ride. We also got strawberries, which were AMAZING! Apparently, Sweden is the place to be for strawberries. After we got back from the store, Elsie and Sven-Eric took us to the train station. Elsie started to cry when she said goodbye, which of course made us want to cry. Cathy and Mom talked on the train about stuff Michelle and I didn’t really want to talk about.

Ingela met us at the train station and took us to our hotel. It was amazing. It was recently renovated and had the most amazing bathroom. I knew Michelle and I were being spoiled too early because we’d be staying in nasty hostels for the rest of our trip.

Michelle’s bonus points: 2, salmon, shrimp


Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 15; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb