Run like hell


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Halland County » Varberg
January 2nd 2015
Published: January 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Run like hell as my musicals gods aptly called a song.

These last few days I've been running around like hell, not doing very much but as always I promise and then I hold myself to my promises.

But now at the airport I'm free writing on a Mac as the Windows 8.1 is worse than stewed liver.

I bought a nice little Lenovo thingy that promised the world and did not fullfil any of it's promises, so I took it back and got my money back.

Then i looked fora second hand and found one in an unopened box that I could not open unless I payed, this computer was showed to me by a girl who came with it in a paper bag.

I did not buy it, believe it or not, i ended up paying through my nose for a Mac.

Anyway now I'm off to Argentina and ultimately Ushuaia, the end of the world more or less.

My trusted steed awaits me in Montevideo,I hope anyway, would be a bit intercoursed if they had sold it.

But I live hoping that it'll be there otherwise it'll be a strange motorbike holiday without a motorbike.

But first Buenos Aires and after a good night's sleep of with the dilapidated ferry to Montevideo schlepping my helmet and other crap around.

I'm staying with friends, the same generous friendly couple as always, I've heard through the grape vine that I'm supposed to cook curries otherwise....



This time I come prepared, I've brought my own spices so that i don't have to run around like I did the last times, looking for spices that are not within the general scope of good Argentinian housekeeping.

So I got to Montevideo after having communicated with the people over there , come over we're waiting for you.

This I took as a confirmation that everything that we had agreed upon was done.

The had done exactly fuck all with the bike, so I started stripping it down, waiting for the mechanic from KTM who was to come a bit later.

The guy who was in "charge" of the storage told me that I looked angry, my response was, what do you think I should look like, smiling and happy because you did not fulfill your promise?

Well in the end at 11 pm we were almost finished, to continue next morning when the honourable guy from KTM was to pick me up at 10 o'clock, he came att 11.30 , off to get a new battery and finally the thing started.

Drive like hell to catch the ferry just to stand in line for one hour to clear emigration, the whole crew was waiting for me to get the bike on board.

Back to Buenos Aires to get cooking , ten of them pining for curry.

I thought Bolivian drivers sucked big time but the drivers in Bs AS can teach a thing or two, so after a sweaty drive to my friends house , a quick shower and we made to veggie curries and had som liquid valium aka beer.

Today I spent the morning running around like a squirrel in a wheel and after 3 hours I got a simcard and a coffee.

The afternoon will be spent getting new tyres, or a mental breakdown.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th January 2015

Ohoj eller
Hallå där ! Roligt att Lego,IKEA & KTM har ett samarbete när det gäller ditt färdmedel? Vad är det för pappskallar du anlitar när du ska frakta hojen ? Hoppas du är up and running nu och får en go tur. Sitter på Bryssels flygplats och skall slå ihjäl 11 timmar. Har varit i NY och Florida med familjen, ungarna ska jag sälja på blocket när jag kommer hem, nä skämt å sido har vi haft det riktigt bra. Vi hörs och ha de bra så länge // Lasse & Magdalena (den svagsinta)

Tot: 0.536s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0918s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb