Nice Fall Days


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
September 26th 2006
Published: September 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

What perfect weather we are having now. I think this is our Indian Summer. I need to get some pictures of the leaves as the Maple trees are in full color right now. It got cool here today, but with a sweater, it is perfect!

Tomorrow, I am heading to Moscow for a Food Show. It will be interesting to see a show in Russia and I will get to use the suit I brought. There is a big dinner hosted by USAPEEC tomorrow evening as well. I will give you update when I post some fall pictures of the leaves changing. We do not have a lot of Maples trees here, mostly Birch and pine and Birch are not that pretty.

Interviewed and made an offer to a new translator today. Isflana (I may not have the spelling right). She was very good so hopefully I will not run this one off. She hates her current job at LG so she is giving them a one week's notice and should be here early next week. I will be glad to get my own as oppose to borrowing one. It would not be bad other than my stuff always comes second, but Dasha and Gaukhar has been great.

Believe it or not, we now have a small department store that has a little bit of everything in it. Sort of like the old small Kmart, but not even that large, but at least you can get most things in one location. Next door (inside) is the electronics/applicances store so it is nice to have everything right together. Again, it is still no WalMart but at least you can get the majority of the things you need in one location.

I did not tell everyone of my orange spice zucchini bread I made. It was good. I honestly like Jetta's spice recipe using Bisquick better, but this turned out great now that I found the baking powder and baking soda. Does anyone know the conversation from liquid vanilla to powdered vanilla? I usually just use on dry package to one teaspoon liquid.

Again, not a lot but just thought I would check in with everyone.

Advertisement



27th September 2006

vanilla conversions
hi im really enjoying your journal its nice to read what the real world in russia is like. according to baking 911.com 1 rounded teaspoon of vanilla powder equals 1 teaspoon vanilla extract i hope this helps
27th September 2006

Glad you're having nice weather. We're actually having the best weather right now out of the whole year. Beautiful 65 degrees in the morning and mid 80's in the afternoon. I hate being inside. Can't wait to see the pictures though, I miss the maple trees I grew up with in Illinois because they were everywhere. Good luck with the new translator - be nice! lol
27th September 2006

Just an idea.
Svetlana maybe? I lived in Russia last year, and kept a diary here just as you do, it would be very interesting to learn how people react to you as a non Russian speaker, and of how you're adapting. Which town is it that you work in? Jon
1st October 2006

Nice Having Others Read
Jon, Thanks for reading about my trip in Russia. I am actually in Obninsk, which is about 100 km southwest of Moscow, down the Kiev Highway if you know where that is. So far, I have been pretty welcomed as an American. They is a lot of mistrust at work where the Russians think we are trying to take everything from them, but a lot of people in the town love to come up and practice their English even if it is one sentence. I have met several people and joined them for drinks. It is very different than the States, but I am getting along pretty well. Thanks for reading and posting.
1st October 2006

Pictures Posted
I have a few that I am posting today along with a new blog entry.
1st October 2006

It Helps
Angie, thanks for reading and thanks for the information. I will have to measure a package this afternoon as I am about to use up the last of my zucchini. I have been using one package for one teaspoon. I am guessing it may be a little on the heavy side, but so far, everything has come out well. Where are you from? Thanks for reading!

Tot: 0.344s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb