Russian Regulations


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
August 18th 2006
Published: August 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yes, we have regulations and a governing body, similar to USDA but we never see them. We are having customer complaints for spoilage and product not meeting shelf life (hum, I wonder why????) but trying to investigate some of them, I asked for the actual customer's specification and it reads, "Fresh product should be appropriate to the conidition of good product." Now tell me what that means! I just thought it was so funny when my translator read it to me. She did not see the humor in it.

Another thing that just came up, the Russian Poultry Federation just met and one of the things they are not allowing is the use of chlorine for safety reasons, but then they go on to say, by not allowing chlorine, it will be more difficult for importers to bring products into the Russian markets, but supposedly this is based on science and research?!?! You can use it, but only at the level of drinking water, but no where does it tell you what drinking water is and a lot is well water and no chlorine in it so who knows.

Another great day here today, but that is suppose to change tomorrow and rain. I am going to work from home and head to the city on Sunday, but one last funny before I sign off and head to bed. I bought what I thought was olive relish because it had black and green olives all over the front cover, but when I opened it to put on a sandwich, I discovered it was more like a sweet horseradish sauce. It was actually very good, but nothing what I expected and I have no idea why there were olives on the front cover so like the old saying goes, "You can not judge a book by its cover."

Advertisement



19th August 2006

interpretation
Do they allow you to freely interpret their regulations - better you than me! lol
19th August 2006

Russia is extremely concerned about "things" and "chemicals" that you can't see everyday. It is in the makeup of their thought process. I can't blame them. Providing secure data will assist. Continue to break down the barriers. ..Love you and miss you!
19th August 2006

hey have you found a shop that sells fur coats and hats yet? :-) That meat market sounds like a place I want to avoid. Well good news that a package is on the way to you with your volley ball gear.. and a few other goodies. Mark and I covered most of the stores in Gainesville and be sure to ask him about the courteous and helpful US postal employees :-) Look forward to hearing about Moscow!
20th August 2006

Thank you!
I found fur hats and scarfs, but no coats yet. It is still warm here so I maybe in a month.

Tot: 0.352s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0951s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb