The end of week 3


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
July 28th 2006
Published: July 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've come to the end of week 3 and time has flown by this week. We only just got back from St. Petersburg and I'm heading to Moscow this afternoon... We've had a final test today on the vocabulary part and considering my lack of Russian intellect I think I didn't do too bad at all. Now there's a week of Russian Grammar left which is boring as hell because she starts from the beginning - Nominative, Genitive, Accusative, etc. The grammar we covered in class this year at uni was of a slightly different level and I fear we might all fall asleep this week.

Remember I told you we were filmed in class so people in Riazan would know who we are? We're actually being recognized on the street, on the bus, in shops,... It's ridiculous really, people start giggling when they see us (so they can smile!) - I feel like wearing sun glasses and a hat! I now truly understand the lifes of Hollywood stars.

I've sent some photo's to Stu the other day and he has put them on a website. I haven't got the address yet but you can send him an email or ask him on msn if you want to have a look!

The weather has gone absolutely freezing here, nothing warmer than 14 degrees. There's a very chilly wind as well and we're all goozebumped. None of us have brought any warm clothes as we were promised Florida weather - and I can guess what you're saying but Russian fashion in the country side is just not my thing!

Cedric made baked beans for dinner last night which turned out to be a sort of feast for me. I'm craving for some Belgian/English food - especially curry and roast. Can't wait to get back home to eat some decent food!! I've had it now with their salads and their food on all of which they put dill and sour cream. Seriously, dill on pizza, dill on eggs, dill on chips - it's WRONG.

I'm off to Moscow for this weekend, staying in a Youth Hostel once again. This time all 9 of us are going. We'll be coming back Sunday evening so I'll write a little report on my adventures probably on Monday. And after that, I'll be coming home on Thursday...

I've taken about 800 pictures so far but with Moscow to come this weekend, I fear for the worst!

Advertisement



30th July 2006

Come home for a decent meal...no dill
Hi Lotte ...what an amazing time you seem to be having! You have made me laugh out loud with your tales. Obviously looking forward to seeing you later this week at my wedding....where I promise a decent three course meal with no dill and plenty of Harveys (may serve in a shot glass!). I'm sitting beside Mike, Jacky, Wendy and Pete who are talking about Mike and Jacky's latest adventure on the high seas including being towed 25miles home by the lifeboat!! Jo xx

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb