Some Final Thoughts of Russia


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
July 26th 2006
Published: July 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It was the best of times...it was the best of times...It is a trip I would do again and again. So many ways of looking at it, approaching it. I will remember Russia for many things. The crazy beginning, being stuck at the border, to riding the train for 48 hours without a word spoken. Fireworks to start the journey, and fireworks every night in St. Pete (and in a different location as well, no one seemed to know who was doing it). A young 7th day adventist tracking me down in the train so he can practice his english, before I get off the train. Arriving in Yekaterinburg at 230am, no place to stay, and no worries about where I was going to stay. All the maps I totally screwed up, even when I had them pointed in the right direction. The beer on the final ride with the colonel (he is a one star general when he does admin work). My 90 minute walk with all my bags in Omsk, to arrive at a hotel that was no longer in service. 13 hours in moscow, seeing red square and the kremlin, and finally making the train, being told by the professor that I was crazy to travel alone in Russia, and how could I see so many things in such a little time. All the Russians that stopped me in the street and asked me directions. All the russians who swore I was only 27. So many people trying to feed me on the train. It was fun.
Now, I am in Budapest, on my way to the east, and a new adventure. Will be very different from the train, but I believe the people will be the same.

Advertisement



6th September 2006

love this site!
we are missing you but what an adventure!I love the stories about the people as much as the places!

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb