Day 5


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
July 14th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Oh my god, I dreamt in Russian!!!! This must be a good sign... Not that what I was saying made any sense, but surely I'm making proces. For our speaking class this morning we had to learn an entire paragraph by heart. Nobody really felt we were learning anything from this, but I guess this is the Russian way of 'drilling'. Class was very tiresome this morning and concentrating was hard. I'm sure I dozed off a couple of times.

Having had salad for lunch for the 5th time in a row, I kind of had it now. Might adventure into some more Russian food flavours tomorrow/ We walked to the Kremlin in the afternoon (the same way as 2 days ago - my request - so I could take some funcky pictures of the holes in the road). They took us to the museum of writing and Russian calligraphy. We had to sit in a little theatre (on rock hard wooden chairs) and watch a 20 minute film. Literally everybody was nodding off, only I had the seat closest to the wall which meant I could lean and have a proper nap. Such a shame the film didn't last longer. I vaguely remember the image of a Neanderthaler and then the lights came on... Oh and it even got better, they took us to the Nature museum which had 2 floors full of stuffed Russian animals, we couldn't have been more thrilled. The only thying we really wanted to do was sit an a terrace and drink cold beer. And so we did.

Before heading home we bought food for tonight - we decided to cook our first warm meal. Apart from the fact it took us 2 hours to go Spagh Bol, it was all good and tasty! Bonus point is that we seem to have made the horrible dead smell disappear in the kitchen.

Today I also would like to mention something about Russian fashion. Whether these women are old or young, they seem to have an extremely weird taste of fashion. They have the most perfect ensembles varying from flashy colours, to dany pink, from big flowers to verticfal strips (no no, not horizontal - vertical!). The younger ones tend to wear hardly anything under the motto 'less is better'. I swear we saw somebody walking around in underwear. (The boys have been behaving themselves, but I'm sure they are enjoying the spectacular views in silence!)

And then there's their hair. Outgrow seems to be very much in fashion. There's even kiosks only selling hair dye on the street. The way they put their hair up is simply uncopiable. And also, all the colours of the rainbow are common practice here. Young and old. And then there's also this very gay thing about men and handbags. All mean wear this teeny weeny handbag which I refer to with the term 'janettensjakosh' - which is not Russian buyt Dutch and fairly impossible to give it a translaqtion that would really justify its meaning. I'm going to try and put a picture on the net so you know exactly what I'm referring to. Sarah and I managed to take a (secret) picture - shame about the flash going off - on the bus last night. Perfect!

It rained a lot in the evening and a good thunderstorm cooled our rooms nicely.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb