O Beautiful!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
July 24th 2008
Published: July 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

OH! I wanted to point something out to guys. Scroll down to the pictures of the sculpture of David, by Michelangelo. I was telling my Dad in an email the other day why I have so many pictures of this one statue. It is because David is my favorite Bible character, and this sculpture of David is a piece of absolute perfection. You'll see that I also took pictures specifically of his hands. They are, in fact, disproportionate to the size of the rest of his body. I am told that this is meant to emphasize that which is most vital to a sculptor--the hands.
I enjoy sculpture much more than canvas art or any other form of art. I imagine the skilled hands of an artist, certain of what his creation will be, as he has set out with a goal and is intent to complete it with perfection. It reminds me of my Creator. Just like Michelangelo did with David, God took great care in shaping the face and features of every person; shaping just how far apart my eyes would be, the contour of my cheekbones, the length of each finger. I can see Him sculpting every face, every forehead, lips, chin... every human being created by the artistic hands of a Master. The Artist did not stop until He reached perfection... Perfection worth displaying, despite the world being full of criticism and judgmental attitudes. It is Perfection, nonetheless, and that cannot be questioned. It is said that beauty is in the eye of the beholder... but even that statement excludes what I believe beauty is.
Beauty is ugly, too. Beauty can be perfect ugliness. And ugly can be beautiful perfection. The eye does not always behold beauty, does it? Well, I believe beauty always beholds the eye, and it is a special thing when, in our world, one realizes not what beauty is, but that beauty is.

To Be Continued...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb