An interesting fuel stop.....


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
November 8th 2007
Published: November 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi again,

Well, as I mentioned earlier, we had a brief, but interesting fuel stop in Petropavlovsk, Russia (after leaving Whitehorse, and heading to Japan). While we were not able to get off the plane, we were able to get some good photographs.

This is a very isolated base, but the geography and scenery are gorgeous! We flew over a slightly active volcano and I was able to get some very good pictures of that.

Seth, our young commercial realtor from Oregon, was saying (at dinner tonight) that he could see that place being developed and turned into quite the tourist spot. He wanted to get off the plane, practice speaking some Russian (that he learned in College) and have a bit of a tour around the area. That was not allowed, of course. But we had good conversation about it tonight. I, personally,enjoyed the waves of fresh, crisp air coming through the cabin of our plane as the doors were open!

Anyway, we thought that all of you out there in blog land would enjoy seeing some of the sights that we experienced.

Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



8th November 2007

Volcanoes in Russia? Who knew?
Greetings, Pat! What a spectacular picture of the snow-covered volcano. I'm really enjoying your narrative, following along every morning. It poured rain in and around Edmonton last night, and thankfully, didn't turn into freezing rain. We'll probably have snow on the ground by the weekend, though. Stay Happy, Pat! Sue.
8th November 2007

Feel like I'm there too!
Hi Pat: It's like a re-run for me from last year's trip. What a great experience that was and now I get to do it all again through you. Have a safe journey my friend and say hi to anyone that may remember Lynn and I from last year. Lorraine
8th November 2007

Fantastic!
Fantastic, I feel like I'm on this journey with you, wish I was. The first thing that I do in the morning is look for your blog. The pictures are great Pat, I'm enjoying everything. What a way to travel! Irene
8th November 2007

I've been out of the office for a couple of days and just got in this morning. I had to spend some time getting caught up on your blogs. THANK YOU for being so faithful in updating the blog and bringing all your friends along on your journey. We are so lucky to have you as a friend. Keep blogging!

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0836s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb