Sending a Package


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
June 6th 2007
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

You are not going to believe this one, but I was trying to send some stuff home so I did not have to carry so much in my suitcase so I had it all packaged up in brown boxes and sent Denis with money to the Post Office to fill out the customs forms and send the packages. He came back with my money and packages. I asked what happened and he said they had to be "wrapped them in a white 'bedsheet' or 'pillowcase'!" I died laughing and asked what in the world is that for and the response, so they can stamp it and no one can get into it. This is no joke, I am for real and even saw it first hand when I made Denis go with me and for me to try it. There in line was a person with her sewn bedsheet wrapped around the package. I too was told the same thing Denis was and my package still did not get shipped. I bought some white material from the fabric store and was going to tape it on when Denis tells me it must be glued or sewn. I said forget it and called DHL and will pay the extra to have them shipped and to be honest, is probably the safer and more efficient way to send things anyway. I just had to share my frustrations with you.



Advertisement



6th June 2007

What are they thinking!
I cannot believe this! There must be a huge problem with missing items in the mail. It puts a new twist on pillow packed product. I can hardly wait for that to hit the US.
7th June 2007

Postal Workers Needs Clothes
I think it is because the postal worker needs clothes for their kids so they remove it and take the pillow case home with them. I agree, it is CRAZY!
8th June 2007

Unbelievable! Are there any restrictions or specific instructions for mailing regular letters? Talk about strange, that one is pretty high on the list.
9th June 2007

Specific Requirements
When you buy your stamps, you receive the specific envelops required for international mailing. I do not mind certain restrictions, but "white linen" glued to the package is a little crazy!
18th June 2007

Not sure why a couple of my comments have come across as anonymous but just wanted to let you know it was just me! lol

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb