Moscow - Transit Stop


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
September 11th 2004
Published: September 11th 2004
Edit Blog Post

My dad and I set off for a few weeks of travel in Central Asia before I continued travelling on my own for some time, and our first transit stop was for 2 days in Moscow. A friend Gnadi that my dad had met in 1990 who had come to Seattle for the Goodwill games, the director of the Briansk Philharmonic, met us at the airport and went along with us to an old ratty Soviet hotel. Central Moscow is very cosmopolitan and reminds me in many ways of Paris. With so little time, we did just typical touristic things... went to red square, Lenins tomb, the Kremlin, and rode the metro around the circle line... the most amazing and ornate subway system I have ever seen. The whole line is littered with brilliant art and chandeliers. There's also the most enormous shopping complex I've ever seen, the GUM, opposite the Kremlin. There is a lot of advertisement in Moscow. The food was mind blowingly excellent, with very chic bohemian cafes everywhere. The prices are about the same as America though. I don't have time to write right now, but I will post photos later if I can.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb